Laos...Temples


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos
August 5th 2014
Published: August 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today was Laos Temple day...in Luang Prabang still. My guide was a novice monk for 17 years, I think that's what he said...apparently that means they study, as in regular school, and can go on to be a regular monk, but he decided it wasn't for him, and now he's married with kid. However...means that I got a LOT of detail from him on all the Buddhist temples we visited, but sadly...my short term memory ain't what it used to be - I'm not even sure which picture if from which temple, or which temples I saw. I will say that the Royal Palace was quite interesting, but they don't let you take pictures inside...you even have to put your purse and camera in a little locker...so they are quite sure you're not taking any photos! Many/most of the temples are incredibly ornate...lots of gold leaf everywhere usually and/or some very nice mosaics. Sometimes it's a tad gaudy for my taste - but you certainly have to admire the workmanship and the pure grandiosity of it all...amazing amount of labor. I've included a random sample of photos from that day...with my comments, but as mentioned earlier...just not sure which is which temple - but they are all in Luang Prabang!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb