Patkeng


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos
December 20th 2002
Published: December 20th 2002
Edit Blog Post

The Laos border was very straightforward, I took a boat over the Mekong and changed some money, getting enough Kip (Laos money) to fill all my pockets, without spending too much Baht (Thai). I got to the dock for the 2 day slow boat down to Luang Prabang and met up with Richard and Martin who had left Chiang Rai the day before me. The boat was like a very large narrow boat which was packed with many people. I met some great Australians, Kiwis, Candians, and Americans and we spent the time chatting, playing cards, and some of us were brave enough to stay on the roof in the sun with the beautiful scenery and whirlpools in the river while the guys who ran the boat told us we were not allowed. There was no way I was going to spend the time in the cramped hot inner though. A few games of backgammon and the days went smoothly. We stopped for the night at Patkeng - which was a small town developed solely for that purpose it seemed - much accomodation and restaurants. I sampled some Laos beer (beerlao) and also some Lao Lao (the local whiskey) and spent the night in a dormitary. I was the only person in the dorm when I arrived, but at midnight 2 locals (I think) arrived and started chatting in the room before bed. I woke up and said "Are you going to chat all night or what? I'm trying to get some sleep"- they seemed to understand that perfectly and went to sleep quite soon and very quietly. One of them however was almost as loud sleeping as he was awake - with the snooring, but that was overshadowed by a couple further down the hall later on - which was a more pleasant sound. I must have dosed off to that sound, and when i was awakened by the cocks crowing at 4 in the morning - a daily occurence in Laos - I felt like Max in "From where the wild things are" The couple still seemed to be making noise, but by now it seemed quite pained, I wondered if I had forgotton to waive my wand to stop the wild things, but shook off the sleep and pretty soon was down at the docks after some nice French Bread and Jam for breakfast (Laos used to be a french colony like much of IndoChina). The boat didn't leave at 7:30 like they said, but that worked out great because Tsipi from Isreal jumped on just before we left. She had taken a day on the fast boat, but had to stop 1/2 way because it gave her such a headache. They really didn't look like fun - 6 hours on a speedboat with a crash helmet on in the heat and wind which was very bumpy and hot. Tsipi and I chatted alot and decided to stay together in Luang Prabang.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb