Not a party


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
July 14th 2004
Published: July 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Well, the party turned out to be a funeral.  Apparently, funerals are semi-celebrations here.  It seemed the whole neighbourhood was nextdoor.  The street was clogged with vehicles of every kind - tuk-tuks, motorbikes, cars and utes and everything in-between.  Music from morning until night for two days; it seemed like a great way to celebrate a life.  I didn't see the monks come, as they usually do, but perhaps I was at work. 
It hasn't stopped raining for two days.  The kids have decided to rename summer school 'winter school.'  I can't say I blame them; it's difficult having a schedule of outdoor events planned only to have it rain on their fun all the time.  I suspect some re-thinking needs to go into the planning stage considering it's rainy season at this time every year - I mean, it's not like this is freak weather or anything so such things should have been taken into account.
Feeling a bit bleak with all this rain!  Think I'm in wind-down mode too as it's the end of my year here.  Here, but not here.  Here, happy to be here.  Here, wishing I was anywhere but here.  Very confusing!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb