COPE centre, Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
September 4th 2012
Published: September 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I had a relatively ok nights sleep..there's a snorer in the dorm, plus I've had a dodgy stomach all night which is still giving me grief!

Nevertheless I headed out to JoMa bakery for breakfast and then walked the 1km out of town to the COPE centre. It's a really interesting and somewhat inspiring place. Around 260 million bombs were dropped on Laos between 1964 and 1973, making it the most bombed country. However it's presumed that around 78 million of them failed to explode meaning that many of the smaller villages are built on land under which many Many UXOs will be. This organisation is set up to help the victims of these bombs that are still affecting high numbers today. A high percentage of which are children. Since the end of the war around 12000 people have fallen victim of these UXOs and the numbers are growing daily.

The centre provides training for local staff in the manufacturing of artificial limbs and rehabilitation activities.

The work they do is awe inspiring and they need extra funding and volunteers who can offer their expertise urgently.

Strolling back into the centre I passed the presidential palace, although according to the guy from the bus yesterday the royals reside in luang prabang and it is the parliamentary persons whom occupy the presidential palace

You can see the difference arriving in Vientiane from luang prabang. Busier roads, educational facilities, colleges and new developments under construction.

I'm now in the Scandinavian bakery having lunch. The bakery is by the fountain, which apparently is beautifully lit at night. I'll visit when the sun goes down.

There is an array of restaurants here in Vientiane so I may venture to one this evening for a meal.

I'm heading to the Laos history museum later and then tomorrow to the buddha park and perhaps the weaving teaching centre.

I've booked an extra night here so not leaving until Thursday now when I'll head to savannakhet which I believe is roughly an 8-10 hr bus ride again.

I'll try to find an Internet cafe later to upload my Photos too.

Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb