Ville Capitale


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
May 31st 2011
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Yet again, the Laos countryside blew me away to get to the capital city. Winding mountain roads, passed limestone formations and local villages were the highlights. The scenery sadly ended to bring me to the country's premier settlement.

When I arrived at the guest house, the chaps working there found it funny I was British and I was called Dan. They just could not believe someone could look like them with a different accent. Every sentence ended in "Dan". For example, "Here's your back passport, Dan.","What EPL team do you support, Dan?" and "Have a nice stay, Dan!". This did not stop for the three days I stayed there. Word seem to get out and even the guy on the night shift did it. The strange thing was that I had never met him.

In all honesty, I have not got much to say about Vientiane. To me, it was just another city without much of a personality. It had a few nice temples, nice french bakeries, many French people and the National Monument. Even the National Monument seemed a little run down. The style did not blow me away either.

I think I'm being a little harsh. Vientiane has its own version of the Arch de Triomphe, called Patuxai Arch. I climbed it to find a lovely view above the city. Similar to its Parisian compatriot, Patuxai had a one way system surrounding it and elegant long straight roads leading towards it. Also, within the grounds were towering water fountains, which the children loved. One thing about Laos, so many children. In cities, towns and villages they were everywhere. Every woman of age seemed to be carrying at least one child. If she had too many to handle, a daughter of only five could be carrying her little brother or sister. Ice cream was being dropped on the street left, right and centre too. It was just too hot for a cone. I spotted one child do a cartoon classic: went for the lick, fell off the cone and then cry. I could not help but giggle to myself.

That's pretty much all I did for three days. I was not the unhappiest person in the world to be leaving. Pleasant but the city just does not offer enough relative to what I had seen before. Now for two more stamps in the passport when I cross the border back into Thailand. Woohoo!




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Lovely IcecreamLovely Icecream
Lovely Icecream

This is the girl whose scoop fell off


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb