Louang Prabang Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
December 5th 2009
Published: December 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After spending a day in this lovely city I decided to go on and make my way down Vientiane, which is the capitol og Laos. The only real option to get there was a bus leaving at either 6.10 in the morning or at 19.30 at night. It was supposedly a Express bus and so I got the ticket for 110.000 Kip(11 EUR). I walked around the city since morning and got a pretty good view of everything. They have a nice temple on a hill overlooking both rivers and it really is a glorious sight. After getting my staff out of the guesthouse I took off to find a Internet place, have a coffee and sort out my photos.
Anyway story is, that after i went to the bus station (on the side cage of a motorbike, where every single breaking would send me flying colors overboard) i somehow managed to find the only really, really overweight Polish girl(Poles are not exactly famous for that) and then she also sat next to me on the bus. And slept partly on my shoulder,... The bus was overcrowded and they even put some additional plastic chairs in the middle corridor, so that people could sit, lol. The journey was over the mountainside and I cant really say that I got much sleep. We arrived in Vientiane around 6.30 in the morning and after taking a Tuktuk to the city I had to struggle for the next 2 hours to find a place to stay. They are hosting the 25th Asia water games here and so everything is booked out. Vientiane as a city is nothing really special. Besides the temples and the Mekong river and teh infamous Lao version of the Arc de Triumphe there is not much to see.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb