Holiday in Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
December 23rd 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post



At 9:30 it's 25 degrees and beautiful sun, I walked across the terminal

Everything is under construction, road, building, pavement. I reached Vientiane after 20 hours on the flight. I lunched at a restaurant whose tables were made from old sewing machine. It was really hot but the meal was very good.

Vientiane, the capital of Laos, has only 200000 inhabitants. It is really quiet here, people are nice but the air is stuffy. It seems rather a small provincial town. It is still quite dirty, and sometimes we have to be careful with some sidewalk. Most inscriptions on the building ofiiciels are translated into French. I feel like travelling in Thailand since you could pay for service here by baht or USD.

Falling asleep while watching a half of female wrestling on TV, then I left for a tour of Pha That Luang, the most famous monuments of Laos, a kind of temple in the shape of a giant lotus .They didn't preserve it very well since cracks and blackened paĆ­nt are visible. Rather disappointing.

Then I came to the Internet cafe of my hotel with its blinking QWERTY keyboards ... I try to put photos online but it will be more complicated due to the unability to connect directly USB.

In late after-noon, I decided to try massage Wat Sok Pa Luang, one of the 6 things not to be missed in a tour of Vientiane according to the lonely planet.

I took a tuk-tuk, which dropped me off near 3 massage houses. I asked a monk for advice and was told to choose small houses, planted in the middle of the vegetation.

And indeed, in one of them, , some people are massaged outdoor. . We must first be put on the sauna "herbal" , then I will be massaged for an hour. I can smell the fragrance of bananas, flowers, and coconuts. The only problem was that there is a lot of mosquitoes. But the total price of the transaction: 3 euros for all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb