Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
March 21st 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
My time in Luang Prabang was great but it was time to move on. I was heading to the capital so i could fly to Beijing for the last leg of my trip. My flight was at 12:20 so I went to the airport at 10. When I got there I was told the flight was cancelled for no reason and I was now on the 3:00 flight. Unfortunately I just had to wait in the airport as I didn't want to pay a cab to take me back to town. When the flight finally took off, I found out my 50 minute flight to Vientiane had a stop scheduled??? So after flying for 20 minutes, we stopped at some random airport to let people off and pick some more up. When the plane landed, everyone had to get off the plane and we sat on the tarmack for almost 1/2 hour. We ended up getting into Vientiane at 5 (instead of 1) and I was off to find a place to sleep for the night. I managed to find a little room in a guesthouse for $4, had some dinner and went to sleep as my flight to Kunming, China
Chillin' pt. 3Chillin' pt. 3Chillin' pt. 3

Sitting on the tarmac with the captain at some random airport waiting for more people to board.
was at 6:30 am.

When I woke up at 4, I noticed it was storming (again) but fortunately it wasn't raining yet as I had arranged a tuktuk to take me to the airport. The driver was early and we were on our way, only to be greeted by some rain 5 minutes from the airport. By some rain, I mean LOTS of rain. It was like a torrential downpour. I got a little wet but was lucky enough to be close to the airport before it was really bad.

The storm settled down before my flight so I was able to get to Kunming on time. When I arrived and tried to book a flight to Beijing, I found out they didn't take Mastercard at the the airport. I managed to find a bank across the street, got some more money and bought a flight at 11:30 am for 12:30 to Beijing. I rushed to the gate and was able to make the flight. I pulled into Beijing at 4pm, managed to catch a shuttle and subway to the hostel. I am now planning the next 4 days and going to fill it with more markets, the
Vientiane sunsetVientiane sunsetVientiane sunset

I was able to walk around the capital for only a few hours before I had to call it a night. This is one of the few pictures I took.
Great Wall of course, Tiananmen Square, Royal Palace etc and then I am heading home. I'm getting more and more excited to get home and too see you Meghan, can't wait. See you all soon!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb