Sabaidee


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
March 20th 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mekong RiverMekong RiverMekong River

A fisherman laying out his nets
I was lucky enough to share a cab to the Bangkok airport, somewhat making up for getting ripped off when I arrived. The flight to Luang Prabang, Laos wasn't too full (only 12 people) but 3 of them were from Canada (a married couple from BC and her brother who works in India). The 4 of us shared a cab into town as none of us had booked a place to stay. After checking a few places out, we managed to find a nice little guesthouse on the Mekong for around $14 a night. Not too bad for a private bathroom!!!! We ended up walking around town , taking some pics and then went for dinner. The food was amazing and we shared everything that was ordered so we could taste all the amazing dishes (deep fried stuffed bamboo shoots, steamed fish flavored with coconut wrapped in banana leaf among several other dishes). I was a little disappointed when we got the bill though and I had to shell out $4 for everything, like I'm made of money or something.

The following day I walked around town in the morning and then went on an excursion in the afternoon. I
FishingFishingFishing

Another fisher in the Mekong, doing it the hard way without the boat.
met another Canadian couple (there were 5 of us on the tour) from Ontario who now live and teach in Hong Kong. We took a bumpy ride to a little village for our first part of the excursion, an elephant ride. When we got there, we were told there are only 2 elephants today. I figured three of us would have to squeeze onto the makeshift seat on the elephant but it turned out that one person had to sit on the elephants neck. Given that I was there with 2 couples, I was the odd man out. It was quite the experience!!!! I couldn't take any pictures of the scenery or even look or even really look at it as I had to concentrate so much to not fall off. The couple from Ontario was super nice and they held onto my backpack to help stabilize me. After the HOUR LONG trip on the elephants neck, we took a boat to Pakou Caves across the river. These caves hold over 4000 statues of Buddha in all different poses, very cool to see. After the caves, we stopped by a whisky village to try some LaoLao whisky, wasn't too bad
LaundryLaundryLaundry

Better dry it done before nighttime. From my 4 nights in Laos it seems like it pours every night (along with wicked thunder and lighting)
at all. We headed back into town, I checked out the night market (seemed to be the same product at every other stall again) and went to sleep.

The next morning, I went to the Kuang Si waterfalls about 30km from town. ON the walk to the waterfalls, there is a bear sanctuary and a tiger in a cage as well. I walked up the side of the hill too see about 4 different falls, each progressing in size until the last area with a huge waterfall. The tour headed back after a few hours and I called it a day as I would be flying to Vientiane (capital of Laos) in the morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Chillin' pt. 2Chillin' pt. 2
Chillin' pt. 2

I miss being a kid sometimes, no cares in the world.
Night MarketNight Market
Night Market

People bring out all their goods to the street every night
Hiring some muscleHiring some muscle
Hiring some muscle

This is some tight security at the Trade Union, wouldn't get away with this in India.
Cleaning upCleaning up
Cleaning up

Sweeping up the leaves after one of the nightly storms.
Sunday driveSunday drive
Sunday drive

A man driving around with his boys.
Our elephantOur elephant
Our elephant

This is one of the few moments I could relax since the elephant wasn't moving at the time. Those are the peeps that live in Hong Kong now (Tristen and Maggie).
Thank you!!!!!!!!Thank you!!!!!!!!
Thank you!!!!!!!!

I'm feeding our elephant after the ride and thanking her for not killing me.
Pakou CavePakou Cave
Pakou Cave

The entrance to the lower part of the Buddha Caves.
Buddha CavesBuddha Caves
Buddha Caves

Apparently the peeps from Canada can't take clear pictures, but you get the idea!!!!
Whisky VillageWhisky Village
Whisky Village

A little collection for sample and purchase.
Hello??? Anybody there???Hello??? Anybody there???
Hello??? Anybody there???

A boy looking for someone to play soccer with. Unfortunately for him, the roster didn't take him up on the offer.
CuteCute
Cute

A boy looking up to his dad.
TigerTiger
Tiger

He was looking for a way to jump out and eat all the tourists, really, he was.
Kaung SiKaung Si
Kaung Si

The last and biggest of 4 waterfalls on the excursion.
Good translationGood translation
Good translation

I've always wanted a pair of Tlip Tlop sohes


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb