Strange world we live in.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Vang Vieng, 28-03-2008.I decided for a fruitshake with two big black Lao coffee for breakfast this morning. I couldn't have a big hearty breakfast after the weedshake I consumed yesterday at a bar while tubing down the Nam Song river. Once I got myself together I hired a bike and cycled out to Phayang, a small village 15 km. north of Vang Vieng. Only 15 km. but by the time I got to Phayang I was exhausted, thirsty and soaked in sweat. That weedshake took more out of me than I had expected. The village temple offered me shade from the burning sun, a cool spot to sit down, a water container to provide my thirsty throat the necesary fluid, two small kittens and soon enough two young monks to keep me company. On the way back I bought a melon from an old hilltribe woman. She had about a dozen melons spread out on a blanket at the site of the road and while I consumed the melon she explained to me in a strange mix of English, bad Thai and Lao that she came from a small village up in the hills with 25 melons, that she carried them in the blanket on her back for twelve hours before reaching the road, that she has been here two days already and has sold half her mercandise at a thousand Kip each. She seemed very happy while telling me all this. My mind goes back to these shitty locals from the tractor tubing kartel back in Vang Vieng. They've well over 300 tubes that they rent out at 40,000 Kip each plus the 20.000 Kip fine when you return the tube after 18.00 H. These bastards make a fortune every day while this friendly old woman with her wrinkled face is happy with her hand full of miserable Kip. Strange world we live in indeed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb