Vang Vieng in a nutshell.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
August 5th 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

local kid...local kid...local kid...

in Vang Vieng
Vang Vieng, same day. The village is just a small typical Southeast Asia sort of affair but with the influx of farangs, has evolved it into the number one Lao drug scene as well as adventure place. Adventure; One can do the infamous tubing, kayaking, caving and hilltribe trekking, as well as rock climbing. For those less active and more inclined to the other pleasures of life, well their is obviously a lot of drug shit to be found. Just walking around the village I could sniff out the different types of Lao marijuana in nearly each restaurant - my nose has become an expert on this topic over the last decades! And I have no doubt so have the noses of the local coppers. Rumour has it you get caught you pay 500 bucks fine, sounds like an expensive joint to me despite the shitty state the dollar is in -. The caves I have visited so far were mostly near the village with a few thousand Kip entrance fee each, the iside wed and slippery - you definitely need a torch or things will get very disorientating. I noticed no spirits that are supposed to live in these cave
one of the ladies...one of the ladies...one of the ladies...

working in my hotel
- maybe my western mind doesn't have the imagenary perception of the local populace. I did find beautifull murals of Lord Buddha's life as well as statues, sometimes life size or as small they could fit into my hands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

one of the ladies...one of the ladies...
one of the ladies...

working in my hotel


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb