Endless sabai dees from small village children.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
August 5th 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ducks in....Ducks in....Ducks in....

Vang Vieng
Vang Vieng, 17-03-2008. Trying to avoid the skinny cows that seem to have taken permanent residence on the roads around Vang Vieng, I swerve to the right, to the left or straight between them. These stupid animals, however, seem determined to undermine my efforts. The road is their territory and I'll have to wait for a passing bus or truck to chase them off the road. Even in Laos might is right as far as public roads go. Eventually I find the dirt track that is the beginning of the Vang Vieng loop and since the cow nation has decided to go straight on, I'm on my own again. Though passing trucks going to and fro a gravel mine, engulf me in big red clouds of dust for yet another 5 km. But even that comes to an end and once I've passed their stinking mine it's all wonder and magnificence. The scenery is stunning, the dirt track swirling through a small valley surrounded by other worldly looking karst stone formations, the occasional village where I can refresh myself with not so cold Coca Cola or Fanta. Small piglets and plenty of chicken running away at the sight of a farang
Cycling the loop...Cycling the loop...Cycling the loop...

around Vang Vieng
on a pushbike. Endless Sabai Dees from small village children coming out in droves to have a look-see at this crazy and sweaty farang. They all wanna touch hands with me but I hear no english, no one bon-bon, no one schoolpen and no demands for spare change. These kids are not yet spoiled by aa endless stream of fat and tour bus imported western tourists. Makes me wonder what this place'll be like, say, five years from now. For now....absolutamente no ingles aqui!!! When finally I get back to Pan's Place, my guest house, I'm kaput mentally as well as physically but happy as hell!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

A local...A local...
A local...

during my cycle trip


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb