THE ONE AND ONLY...work-trip!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Muang Xai
September 18th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A long long time ago...

I went with Nami and Phanlany on a field trip to Khua District, Phongsali Province. (Udomxai was the closest out of the available location list...and we flew there...accepted?)
It was the first time for me leaving my secure and compfortable VTE.
We took the plane to U, where we got picked up. A 3 hours drive followed. Windy roads (which undoubtfully did not pass the criteria for acceptable streets of a german girl...) leading to places back in time. Life can't have possible been any different a hundred years back. That's as well for the road-side villages we were passing as the final ones I visited with Phanlany.
Khua District, where our office is located, is a tiny place, which does get the occasional backpacker (...lost ones?!?).
Our original plan of saving money by staying at a simplier place than the overpriced US$15 hotel, failed after we decided not to sleep in concrete beds and have bathrooms with naked-women-tiles, we got molested by chinese business men in the second guest house and fled the third after one night due to filth, smell and rats!

I got assigned to collect stories and pics of people living in one of the target villages for a donor. Great task, really. I had an excuse to experience real village. It was amazing.
I won't start writing in detail about it as there is no chance I would stop after a few pages... And I want you to keep reading myy blog and not being scared off by the tiring never-ending entries!

I'll add pics and hope they can give you brief idea...
S


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb