Kuang Si Waterfall


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
May 28th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 19.8841, 102.142

As a few tourists were heading out to the waterfall I decided to join them thus sharing the cost as it would have been too expensive otherwise. It's a wyndy and bumpy road out which is around 35km away and I think we're all feeling sick by the time we arrived, and that's us in a minivan instead of a tuk tuk with aircon and a bit of comfort!


From the drop off area it's a short walk to the waterfall but first I get to visit the bears which are all having their food so are pretty active which is fun watching. This is my first experience of black bears but they're funky guys, their food is hidden in all sorts of interesting places for them to encourage their being in the wild antics of 'searching' for it and I'm impressed with the amount of thought that's put into it. They have a rescue center set up which seems to be well organised and I'm impressed with their setup and the amount of rescue bears they accommodate.


From the bear park I walk up to the waterfalls which are beautiful, the color of the water is so
incredibly appealing that I join everyone else in stripping off to jump into the pools, only problem is I slipped on a rock going into the first pool and jarred my sore arm which wasn't good, and gave myself another cracking bruise on my backside, oh joy! I subtly managed to get myself together and got out of the pool but how stupid can I be, I'm meant to be looking after myself. After watching the antics of everyone else having fun I walked up to one of the higher pools and this time I managed to get in but of course I can't swim yet with my shoulder so was very restricted until I gave up and got out, I wish I knew how to take it easy.


So that was my last encounter of venturing in, I just watched the rest of the day and walked up as far as I could to the top of the waterfall but when the path began to scramble I returned back down to save further injury. The scenery is beautiful and it is a nice place to spend some time just chilling out, the color of the pools is stunning and
with beautiful sunshine I settle in for a few hours chatting and wandering until it's time to head back for out transport.


On the way back down the bears are snoozing or cooling off in water from the heat of the day, I enjoy getting a few lazy pictures on the way home and a nice memory of my day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sound asleep... it's a hard lifeSound asleep... it's a hard life
Sound asleep... it's a hard life

Love this guy tucked up in his hammock


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb