Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
May 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Laos!

It's quite late again, we've had a full day, so again this will be short, mainly due to lack of time (other things to do than being on line) and the very poor internet connection.

The original plan was to fly to Dien Bien Phu (bus would take too long) and then cross the border into Laos and go to Luang Prabang. Unfortunately, all plane tickets were sold out so we opted to fly straight to Luang Prabang from Hanoi. Sadly this means I have to skip Dien Bien Phu and the North of Laos. But we do gain one or two days we can spend here or somewhere else due to the time we won by coming straight here.

Laos is beautiful. The landscape from the air and everything you see walking around. The people are friendly and it's much more relaxed than Vietnam. Having diner (I had làam and Hoe had spicy chicken (my láam turned out spicier than her chicken)) on the river bank of the Mekong on a nice and calm evening is something you can get used to very easily!

We're in the Ban Lao hotel which is very nice but the internet in the room is non-existent, I have to sit on our terras to have a poor connection. Tomorrow we'll see if there's anything we can go see nearby. We took pictures and made videos, but there's no point trying to upload them. For those who have me on Facebook I uploaded 13 pictures yesterday, so nothing coming from Laos yet.

In a few days we'll be heading to Vientiane. Maybe a short stop in Vang Vien? I Don't know, we'll see.

Hopefully we'll be able to use a better connection soon. There's so so much I would like to tell you but most of it I have already forgotten because when in Vietnam I went/was taken from one thing to the next. I hope that with the help of pictures and Hoe that I can recap it all later.

For now, it's off to bed. Tomorrow is another warm Laotian day (hopefully, without rain)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb