Livin’ La Vida Lao


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 22nd 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Kao Piak munch timeKao Piak munch timeKao Piak munch time

Bay took me to eat some noodles ("kao piak") to start our Christmas holidays off with a bang.
As I spend more time here, people think I look more and more Lao. Or, maybe it’s just because now my Lao has improved enough that I can understand it when they point and me and chuckle, “You look like a Lao person.”

The team here at PoP has taught me all that I need to know to fill the shoes of my Lao family. Bay invited me to his home village to celebrate Christmas, and a few weeks later, Ya invited me to his village to celebrate Hmong New Year (a holiday that lasts several weeks to ensure that everyone is able to celebrate in all the neighboring villages).

The journey to Bay’s village was one of the rockiest, dustiest ones that I have been on since arriving, and was only exaggerated by the fact that we were riding two to a motorbike through massive potholes over dirt roads. After a jarring two-hour ride, we arrived in Bay’s village, ready to start the celebration, style-Lao. After meeting Bay’s incredible mother and family (and gifting her with a bag of apples, for which she now loves me forever), we kicked off by watching a day-long soccer match played by
Bumpy roads to Bay's villageBumpy roads to Bay's villageBumpy roads to Bay's village

Look! An entire soccer team in the truck in front of us!
all the Christians in neighboring villages. Most memorably, Bay’s wife taught me how to shower. I thought it would be a little inappropriate for me to sneak a camera into the event… but if I could have, I would have! It was awesome. She gave me a sarong-type tube of cloth to wrap around myself, and brought me to a semi-private space behind someone’s house to start dunking myself in ice-cold water. I did my best not to suck in the river water every time I gasped when she poured the bucket on me.

That night, I watched a performance of local Lao singers and dancers perform to Lao-ified Christmas music. I was beat by midnight, so I crawled into my bed. Deep asleep, I did not wake until I heard giggles at the foot of my bed. I looked down, and two pre-teens were climbing into my bed. It was only my second weekend in Laos… how was I supposed to know that bed-sharing is a long-treasured tradition in Laos?! I rolled over and gave Bay’s cousins room to sleep, feeling very glad that I wasn’t the one who had to play the part of middle spoon in
Lao cheerleadersLao cheerleadersLao cheerleaders

Armed with signs, urging their favorite soccer teams to victory
that bed arrangement.

A few weeks later, I ventured to Ya’s village, riding on public transportation (a “bus” that you might recognize as a somewhat elongated tuk tuk) for the first time. Nambo is a beautiful village, surrounded by mountains and lakes, and it is especially festive during Hmong New Year. I already knew some about the garb of Hmong New Year (since girls from my guesthouse had invited me to a celebration in Luang Prabang a few weeks prior), but it is such a pleasure seeing an entire town decked out in velvet and bright colors. Any pattern goes! Ya’s cousins and brothers were little trouble-makers, and I loved them dearly. After playing a traditional game of ‘catch’ (the favorite pastime during Hmong New Year) and drinking a few chugs of lao lao whiskey flavored with black hornets, we retired to Ya’s family’s manmade lake, where he showed us how real men fish. Decked out in his monotone red outfit, he showed how we could catch our dinner using just a net and weights. That night, we lit candles and scattered the deck with our experimental lanterns (made out of just about every material possible). The stars were
Bay's mom!!Bay's mom!!Bay's mom!!

Bay's mom was a wonderful woman - I love her to pieces because she's a hugger. (Also in the picture - my friend Ryan who used to be Bay's boss at Joma cafe)
beautiful, and the air so clean. Sometimes, it’s nice to get out of “the city”.

Every day, I learn something new. In these outings, it really was learning how to be Lao. I’ve spent a lot of my time in villages – enough to know that 2-3 days is about all I need. After a while, I miss hot running water, consistent presence of soap, and a soft mattress. But getting to see where my friends grew up is incredibly valuable to me, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world, not even a bar of soap (meh, that’s what scented antibac is for right??).



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bay's massive living roomBay's massive living room
Bay's massive living room

Perfect for storing sleepy heads after a late night out. When I woke up, I saw three full grown men sharing a 'mattress' the size of a body pillow on the living room floor. This is where all the neighborhood kids come to watch Lao music videos.
Don't you love when they kill a cow for holidays?Don't you love when they kill a cow for holidays?
Don't you love when they kill a cow for holidays?

All the meat in Bay's village was as fresh as it gets, since it was holiday time.
Murky brown, potable water?Murky brown, potable water?
Murky brown, potable water?

This is the first time that I drank water in a village home. Its taste and color made me very, very nervous.
Showing off riding in a sinhShowing off riding in a sinh
Showing off riding in a sinh

I can't actually ride a motorbike... I just wanted to see how it felt to be in the driver seat, wearing a sinh skirt.
Aftermath: the dusty rideAftermath: the dusty ride
Aftermath: the dusty ride

Ryan drove me home from Bay's village - we were completely covered in dust.
PoP Stars Ya and YaePoP Stars Ya and Yae
PoP Stars Ya and Yae

I work with both cousins Ya and Yae at Pencils of Promise. Here they are, ready to celebrate Hmong New Year with me in their village!
Ya's house full of riceYa's house full of rice
Ya's house full of rice

Apparently all village houses look like this - dozens of bags of rice piled away for a rainy day.
Ya's family's lakeYa's family's lake
Ya's family's lake

That little enclosed space is where Ya, Becky (Ya's friend), and I spent the night (thankfully covered by a mosquito net)
Lao Lao with HornetLao Lao with Hornet
Lao Lao with Hornet

Here's the darkest lao lao whiskey I've ever seen, with hornets to boot! Ya's father loves to 'make' lao lao (no, he doesn't start from scratch. He starts with normal Lao Lao, then adds random things to it)
Girls at the windowsillGirls at the windowsill
Girls at the windowsill

We attracted a nice congregation of Hmong girls (+ 1 Khmu girl that spoke decent Hmong - a rarity!) right before the New Year festivities began
Construction, style LaoConstruction, style Lao
Construction, style Lao

Ya says that construction in his village is mostly done by friends and family. Cool.
Crying baby in the hammockCrying baby in the hammock
Crying baby in the hammock

Whoops... sorry hon, didn't mean to wake you from your mini-person hammock.
Born to modelBorn to model
Born to model

Here's Ya's attention-seeking and incredibly adorable brother/nephew/cousin.


21st February 2011
On a final note of love...

Love
Loved the photos and writings! Much belated, but much appreciated. Isn't that amazing that you survived the ride! I hope they understand the structural engineering concept behind building houses so that they won't collapse. Above all, you look happy and I am happy for you. Much Love, M.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb