Its been a Luang hard Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
February 17th 2010
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Feb 16th

Yesterday we made what turned out to be the 8 hour journey from vang vieng to luang prabang. The road distance is only 220 km or so,we were expecting about 3 hours or so, but its a winding road going up and down through the mountains. It was a beautiful drive, but by the end my back was killing me and i just wanted it to be over.

Here we are in Luang Prabang. I really like it here, its a nice sleepy town that is set up for visitors, but not a stinking tourist trap. The scenery is beautiful and the people are friendly. There is a big night market about 10 minutes from our guesthouse, which is right on the edge of the river (not the mekong, the other one, whos name eludes me currently)

This morning we moved to a really nice guesthouse, its the first one we've had where the shower has its own part of the bathroom, all the others, its usually mounted right next to the toilet.

Strange thing about this part of the world, even the really fancy places dont have hot water taps. Theyll have a heater in the shower, but i guess its just not something they need.

At some point today, I ate or drank something that hasnt been agreeing with me. I can't really figure out what it was though, everywhere we went seemed clean enough and used regulation ice and whatnot... Oh well, its not the end of the world, just my day.

Advertisement



18th February 2010

No hot water?
I find it slightly disturbing that- A) the showers are usually mounted next to the shitter and B) that there is NO hot water, only a heater...Strange. Hope you GI tract soon straightens itself out. We've had the flu running through our house for a week, so I can feel your pain!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb