Going out with a prabang.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
February 19th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Here we sit in Luang prabang, at a nice little french cafe. Today is the first day on our vacation that the temperature hasn't reached 30. Its actually pretty chilly here, making me regret ditching my sweater in pphnom penh.

This town is really quite nice, its pretty touristy, but has a real sleepy vibe that all the other traps didn't. There are always delicious baguettes and coffee and the people are friendly.

Yesterday we visited kwang si falls, a beautifull set of waterfalls that go down the side of a mountain. If they hadn't been so very busy it would have been perfect, but alas, can't have it all to ourselves. I'm trying to upload pictures from it, but we havn't found a fast internet connection in all of laos.

Tomorrow we catch a 12 hour bus to huay xai, on the border with thailand. We wanted to take a boat, bbut the river is so low right now that it soun.ds like they're getting stuck and cramming people on busses anyhow. Too bad, I hear its a beautiful ride.

I'm starting to get a little homesick, but then I sit back and take a sip of my 50 cent, locally grown coffee, and look at the palm trees and orchids surrounding me, and its not so bad.

We're staying at a pretty nice guesthouse right now, run by a family. Little brother, Hur, plays guitar and is quite eager to play mine whenever he gets the chance, I'm of course happy to share. He knows two songs, and one of them is by oasis....

Anyhow, its chilly and I've finished my coffee, back to the guesthouse to play mario brothers and kill the rest of this cloudy day.

Miss you all, keep holding down the fort in coldland for me.

Sabaidee (hello/goodbye)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb