Chilling with the Novice


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
February 6th 2006
Published: February 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Over the past few days I had an experience that I had really been wanting to have. I hung out with a novice monk. These are the guys that wear the orange cloaks and are seen all over South East Asia. When I see them the put me in a trance. Perhaps its their orange garb or their shaved head, but they simply amaze me.
While waiting for the red cross to open I decided to check out the Buddhist temple across the street. I walked around for a while and came upon a monk making a lanyard. He greeted me with a "Saidee" which was standard and then asked me "How are you?." We started talking and he told me to go and check out the beautiful temple, which had paintings of Buddhas life. So I did. I came back and asked him to tell me about Buddha. I told him I didn't know anything about his life and was interested. He looked me sort in inquisitively, as if he were saying "really, this big white guy is asking me about Buddha?" He told me that he had a book in his room and said that I could borrow it if I wanted. He invited me to his room and we hung out for about 2 hours, just talking and drinking water.
His name is Keo, and he's one of the brightest people I have ever met in my life. He speaks 6 languages (English, Japanese, Thai, Lao, Lue, Pale (monk secret language)) and he is going to start learning french pretty soon. Keo is only 18 but he's been living in a Buddhist monastery for 9 years (it takes 20 to become a full monk)!!! I had trouble believing him but he has been studying english for 3 months which is amazing because he is actually rather articulate and understands a lot. He has lived in Luang Prabang for 3 years. He shares a room with his buddy who's name in english means Diamond light. Keo is a very good artist. He has covered his walls with drawings, lanterns, origami and even pros or thoughts about humanity. He has been taught to write the things down that come tom him whether it be during meditation or while he is just walking around the temple. These are a few of his sayings that I really liked:
Collecting AlmsCollecting AlmsCollecting Alms

Every morning the Monks wake up at 4am, chant for an hour, then go out and collect their food from the "common people." This is the only way they get fed
"He who wants to be a good person
must study all the things of the world
little by little"

"Loving kindnes cements the people of the world"

"Education is the process by which a person gains experience which will make his actions more effective"



He told me all about his life, and accepted my many questions about how he lives, no matter how stupid they were. His room was very simple but I loved it. He has Cds but no CD player, a few books, a ton of drawings, a painting of the beach (though he admitted he had never really seen the beach), and a few other nick knacks. All in all he didn't own much. When I think of all the crap that I own and don't use back in the states and compare it to Keo, I feel pretty ridiculous. The more I travel the more I realize that, people don't really need much in life to be happy, just the essentials
I came back the next day having finished the book he gave me and we chatted for another hour or so. I got his email address and as well as his address at the temple. I think I'm going to go back to Luang Prabang to hang out with Keo again later this week.
Thank you keo for this experience. I will cherish it forever.

Words from one of the Wise Men (Gadiel Rachelson)

"I want to be clad in orange, and to see the world through the simplest
filter possible.

I want to chop off the excess emotion of life, and just to see the
simple connection that binds us all."

snap brotha

Advertisement



7th February 2006

Unreal
So this is my very first comment on your wall..and you have been traveling for how many months now?? haha anyway, after reading your last few entries I just had to tell you how amazing your experience seems. I am soooo jealous of you right now...yea, dc doesn't quite compare. im livin vicariously through you, so keep updating. lookin foward to hearing more about this incredible trip...
7th February 2006

Buddha's Fat Belly
Fatness is symbolic of willingness to accept all the world's gifts. For denial to one thing, is denial to all of eternity.
8th February 2006

Luang Prabang
Great pictures of Luang Prabang. I am planning to do South East Asia tour next year including my home town Luang Prabang. After seeing your pictures of Luang Prabang, I am excited and can not wait for my trip next year. Hope you have a great time there and good luck and be safe the rest of your journey... Steven

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb