Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been a few days since my last entry, so I'll do my best to remember everything that's happened since then.

I took a 7 hour bus ride from Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang. We drove through an extensive mountain range and it was breathtaking. All of the mountains are covered in jungle. It's hard to imagine any other part of the world that is as untouched as Laos. It's also crazy to think that Laos is the most bombed country in the world that has never been in a war.

Luang Prabang was expensive, as it is a stopover for many American tourists on group tours of Asia. We did make it out to the Kuang Shi waterfall and spent most of the sunsets along the Mekong. There are a lot of temples around the city as it's the holiest city in Laos. Lots of monks walking in the streets. We rented bicycles for a couple of days and just rode around town. They have a really nice night market as well. (When I say we, I mean myself, Liz and Ed, the "Swiss" couple).

I took the slowboat down the Mekong to Pakbeng and then Houayxai. It's a 2 day trip of 8 hours a day on a boat. The only sound is the motor of the boat, the crush of the water, and your own thoughts. The scenery was incredible... mountains rising out of the water, ubiquitously green with jungle. Day 1 on the boat was freezing... the sun barely came out all day. I met 2 Swedish girls who I actually took the bus from VV to LP, Jojo (Johanna) and Jessica. We ended up sharing a room in Pakbeng. Day 2 started out a lot better. We ate breakfast at a bakery and they were playing the Mama Mia soundtrack... nothing like a little ABBA to get your day started! We stayed overnight in Houayxai and crossed the mighty Mekong to Chiang Khong, Thailand. We took a 5 hour (bumpy) minibus ride to Chiang Mai!

I was in Chiang Mai about 2 months ago, so it's kind of cool that I know my way around now. Today we rented motorbikes are drove around town. Jojo was a bike messenger, so I sat on the back of her moto as I trust her driving!

I have been trying to switch my flight home to be back in time for my birthday, but it's not going to happen. Because of the Chinese New Year, the earliest I can get home is Feb 4. Looks like I'll be going back to the beach for a few weeks to improve my tan before coming home!

Much love ~K xo

Advertisement



12th January 2009

I think it's so amazing that you can meet people and travel with them for days at a time when they were just strangers before! It's such a great concept, and I wish more people could experience it! On the other hand, I'm somehow strangely excited at the idea of your coming back to Canada. You'll still be far away from me, but having you in the same border is somehow comforting! xo
13th January 2009

Your river boat ride sounds so idyllic! I want to do something like that:)

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb