Hello Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Breakfast at the borderBreakfast at the borderBreakfast at the border

You can see laos from the balcony
As I already mentioned, the minute I left Anne and Eelke at Chiang Mai I met a portuguese couple, Andre and Catarina. I have been hanging out with these guys for the last few days. They have been great company as its always good to have someone to talk to at dinner and stuff.

(Obrigado pela companhia Andre e Catarina!)

The slow boat trip from Chiang Khong to Luang Prabang was quite an experience. I really don't wanto to do it again soon. It is very long and unconfortable and you can't avoid thinking why are you wasting two days seating in a boat. However its a unique experience to witness the power of nature during this trip. From the fantastic scenery to the sudden storms along the way it all makes it worth the pain. But one time is enough.
Luang Prabang is a great place. Very slow paced city/village with a lot of things to do outdoors. Today we went to the waterfalls nearby. It was great. I also visited the city's main attractions since I decided to leave tomorow.
I would really love to tay in Laos longer, its really a great country. But I am quite tired and want to save my last holidays at the beach just preparing for the loads of work to come in september. So i'm going back to bangkok and then to Koh Samui where I will spend a few days and maybe some more in Koh Tao. I just heard from Maja, she's still there so maybe I will meet with her.
Hope everything is okay with everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Slow boatsSlow boats
Slow boats

One of these is the boat I traveled on.
The boatThe boat
The boat

This is how you travel for 7 hours straight.
Storm Comming inStorm Comming in
Storm Comming in

However we were still in the sunshine here
Portuguese dinnerPortuguese dinner
Portuguese dinner

Portuguese eaters at least.
Through the StormThrough the Storm
Through the Storm

This was a tough one. Some people though the boat was going to turn over. The captain had to tie us to a tree for an hour.
Temple up the hill.Temple up the hill.
Temple up the hill.

One billion steps up the hill


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb