Majestic Mekong RIver


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
November 21st 2007
Published: December 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

well-- last nght was very chill... My back has been hurting me from falling... what a DORK I am!. ugh!... Got a 1 hour massage- $5..it was GREAT!...
I havnt really enjoyed the food here... there is something they put in the food-- maybe a herb or spice-- that doesnt quite sit with me... its in their breads as well.. yuk!..Ive been eating mostly the Organc bars from home ( THANK YOU HEATH! ) and veggie soups..( still a little chunky! ugh! haha!! jk).....
I just realized that I havnt had much protein in the past few days.. and my legs have been shaking when I stand... weird? .. not sure if its the fall or the Malaria pills I have started?....
It could be lack of protein and Vit. B?.. Heath or Lynne?....

There are really SO many travelers... its almost like 'we'- as in tourists- take over the city... Asia has def. adapted to 'our' way of life just to accommodate us...At some moments-- it takes away from the 'authentic life' here....I figure that this is there means to survive... Pushing us to buy things.. Maaa-sage for you.. tuk tuk for you... I give you cheep discount... lucky lucky i give you good deal.... Every 2nd or 3rd shop is a tour guide stores... massage houses.. guest houses( hostels)... restaurants with American/ swedish/ French menus...
Laos is definitely more primitive than Thai.. but you can see that they are building more and creating a environment that supports "US"....its kinda sad..

Wed- didnt sleep much.. There was a band playing right outside my window... Lao music all night.. Thank G for the Ipod! ha!... Oh-- and early rise from the ROOSTER!--( Mom you would appreciate it) ha!...

9:30am- Connie and I rented a private long boat up the Mekong River to see the caves and Villages.. It was BEAUTIFUL!!!... So serene and majestic.... The river holds a powerful essence in it...
The caves are neat... On the way up, village kids are trying to get you for "GOOD LUCK"-- $1 buck releases a poor little bird they caught- which is supposed to give you good fortune... How SAD!... These guys from NY thought it was funny.. so he paid $2 for an owl... 😞.....
The cave is filled with very old sculptures from long time ago... tiny little budha figures and statues all over... I guess it would have been wise to read up as to what they are there for..??.. Maybe later! ha!..

We stop a village that makes Whiskey.. and rice wine.. YUK!.. They have bottles filled with it and snakes and scorpions and others things inside!! WEIRD!.... All the women are selling their hand made silk scarves, jewelry, and bracelets.. very cheap.. very poor...Connie bought some scarves.. you can get them EVERYWHERE in Laos and Thai...








Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb