Luang Prabang - Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
September 27th 2007
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post







I'm back now over 6 months... so it's about time I get the last of these blogs out. Life back in Cork is great, everything seems to have fallen into place... that's not to say I'd rather be off traveling around the world though!!!







1 USD to 10,000 KIP

Famous for being the most bombed country in the world... how sad is that statement!




After leaving Chaang Mai I hopped on the bus to Chang Rai and met up with El Fluter herself.. Edel from Ballincollig, Chang Rai is ok but I left there after a night and headed for the slow boat to Laos.

I Bumped into Michelle, Rob & Sara on the slow boat from the trek in Chang Mai and traveled on together on the 2 day slow boat on the Mekong to Luang Parbang...MARE!!! double MARE!! It was an experience put it that way, the cost was 30USD approx I think and it was a DEEEEEEEEEE saster.....the 1st boat we all crammed into didn’t even have proper seating..they were wooden two seaters just placed there..not even securely nailed down.... it was funny though..The look on everyone’s face..I don't even know why....at this stage things still surprise me..... HOWEVERRR...I found a little place down the back on top of all the bags and slept for most of the 2nd day...






There was a choice between a speed boat...where it was mandatory to wear a helmet??????????????? NO THANKS or the slow boat.... as much as the slow boat was a nightmare it was great in a way as everyone we met on the boat we kept bumping into along the way in Laos.



Arrived into Luang Prabang....beautiful beautiful little French town....cobbled streets... the nightlife was crazy...the bars close at 10.30 and everyone goes to the bowling alley.... so there you have pop corn, beer...drunk people playing with bowling balls and - organised chaos. I didn't do anything else in Luang P only check the night life out, it was brilliant... the girls made it up one morning at 6am to feed the monks...but as I was only getting in I gave it a miss..bed was way to appealing at that stage! I’m still traveling on with Sara, Michelle, Rob and we've managed to pick up another 2 girls from Birmingham so there’s a nice crew of us heading for Vang Vieng for the infamous TUBING!!!!





Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bowling Alley Luang PrabangBowling Alley Luang Prabang
Bowling Alley Luang Prabang

where did the cat come from??


4th June 2008

Hey Brig!
Hiya, wow, i havent heard from you in months. Thought you'd disappeared for ever! Hope you're adjusting to life in the PRC again. What a fabulous adventure you had!! Whatcha upto now? what's Karen doing? xx
6th June 2008

what???
Your back 6 months, and here was I saying where the hell has she gone... hadn't heard a word from you in eons... give me a shout and we'll meet for coffee beside the clarion again... lol

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb