Making the world go around


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
June 8th 2005
Published: June 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

On my way to Link and SampunOn my way to Link and SampunOn my way to Link and Sampun

Southern side of Wat Pu Si
The exchange rate of KIP to Euro in shops is about 12,000. You can become a millionaire for an outlay 100Euro. I buy 50 Euros worth of KIP and get 625,000KIP; a wad of notes and an elastic band to keep it all together...The mind boggles at the prospect of this soon happening to the US dollar......

Magic Keynesian solution: If the economy is slugish and the world ain't turning, the people ain't buyin' and sellin' then just print some more money...


I see King Sisavang vatanna's palace (son of King Sisavangvong) who got kicked out by the commies in 1975.

Back at the monastery, I work through a book on Earth sciences with Link while Sampun says he's tired and asks can he play with my ipod. I let him and then he plays the parachute game and listens to the Godfather theme and says it's very sad. ..


Walking down the street market on Th Photisalat, I hear a voice from behind. It's Mr. CIA and he urges me to buy some local crafts.
"Ever heard the expression, "nothing happens until something is sold"? ", he asks. The scarfs are light he
Way home - North side of Wat PusiWay home - North side of Wat PusiWay home - North side of Wat Pusi

Lao Beer - 20 minutes this way
tells me and points me to a Lao girl that sells particularly good stuff. The world turns, we negotiate, I don't try too hard but she sells me two nice silk and cotton scarfs...I pay in cash 10USD, it's as phoney as the KIP but she doesn't know it...











Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Monks Quarters and dragonsMonks Quarters and dragons
Monks Quarters and dragons

Monks quarters located on the Sourthern side of Wat Pu Si above the dragons steps.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb