Huay Xai 6 - 10th


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Ban Houayxay
November 6th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We said our goodbyes to Pai as Jess, Josh and I headed to the Laos boarder via Chiang Mai where we dropped off Nancy as she was heading to Cambodia with a friend from back home.
The day was spent in a minivan but thanks to Jess' drunken state the night before we kept ourselves amused with her hysterical antics. Don't worry girl, it happens to the best of us!

7 hours and one dodgy Pad Thai later, my stomach had finally caved in and I spent the night cuddling the loo. Oh the fun. There you go Jess...karma for laughing at ya!

Weak tired and emotional we trudged across the boarder where we all parted as our plans no longer matched.

I was excited by the prospect of my upcoming jungle trek but was seriously gutted to leave the others.
The four of us seemed to click so well and I'd spent the last 2 weeks feeling so relaxed and at ease with everyone. It was as if we'd known each other for years so when I found myself alone for the first time in a long time it really hit home and I felt quite down.
PaiPaiPai

Jess feeling rather hung over. Hehehe Don't worry, only 267 road bends back to Chiagn Mai!

I guess I better get used to seeing people come and go if I'm traveling for a year.

Anyway, onwards and upwards, and upwards it was. In fact it was 200 meters high in the canopies of the Laos jungle where i spent the next 3 days trekking and zip lining through the jungle.

The experience was amazing. I've definitely tackled my fear of heights that's for sure!
The jungle was intense. We walked for a good 2 hours each day in thick sticky leach infested mud, climbed giant steps and slid down numerous slopes before reaching the zip lines where i somehow pluck up the courage to fling myself off the edge of a ledge and suspend myself 200 meters in the air as i glided through the tree tops taking in the breathtaking views of the jungle beneath me whilst stopping myself from freaking out!






Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Flights of the GibbonFlights of the Gibbon
Flights of the Gibbon

View from the treehouse bathroom
Flights of the GibbonFlights of the Gibbon
Flights of the Gibbon

Morning view from the treehouse
Flights of the GibbonFlights of the Gibbon
Flights of the Gibbon

Swiming by the waterfall in the jungle. Watch out for those leaches guys!
Flights of the GibbonFlights of the Gibbon
Flights of the Gibbon

Local village girl
Flights of the GibbonFlights of the Gibbon
Flights of the Gibbon

Yeah...I wouldn't recommend spending 3 days in the jungle in shitty trainers...not the best idea i've had but then when have i ever done anything the easy way :)


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb