6 Months Out, 6 Weeks Left


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Savannakhet
October 24th 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today is a special day, it is exactly 6 months to the day that I flew off to San Francisco, yes 6 months of living in various places out of a rucksack, and it's also exactly 6 weeks until my flight home, yes just 6 weeks until I fly out of Hanoi in Vietnam back to Singpore, then the long haul back to London, and then an Easyjet up to Inverness. I am just working out my plans for my return, in fact I'm pretty sure what I'm doing, but I'll announce when I'm certain.

Now then, did not do a trekking trip in Laung Prabang in the end, too many companies, not enough people on each trek, too much money, dissapointing but I'd rather keep the cash, got an idea for a cool trip in Vietnam so I'll keep the money for that.

So was happy to leave behind Laung Prabang, got to know the guesthouse gang and one of them gave me a lift to the bus on his moped on Sunday morning, sitting with backpacks, shorts, no helmet on a moped, that's illegal at home, ha ha. But completely normal out here.

Long bus journey over the hills and mountains back to Vientane, spent 2 expensive nights back there reluctantly, sometimes after a day travelling, you have to rest up the next day.

Today left early to get a bus south, a sardine can but with turbo boost down to the Southern Town of Savanaket, found a charming guesthouse with a real old French Colonial feel to it, and just walking the streets to this net cafe was weird but nice, the people here shout out 'sabadi' ie hello all the time, so a few nights here, not in a huge hurry at the moment.

Plan for the final 6 weeks, onto Four Thousand Islands, then a quck look at what Cambodia has to offer, then it's up the Coast of Vietnam for my rendevous with Singapore Airlines on 5th December in Hanoi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb