The Bolaven Plateau


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Bolaven Plateau
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Paxse and the first thing I noticed was the wind! Big gusts of wind whirling dust everywhere. Of course the wind concerned me because as it was I was going to be climbing uphill for the whole first day of my Bolaven cycling loop. I asked a couple of people and apparently, the wind is a constant feature here in this area : (

Mr. Boune at Green Discovery was very helpful with his insight to the area. He confirmed the route I was taking was the best way to go, easing my mind somewhat. I still had concerns about making it up the 40km climb!

Mr. Vong at the Saibady 2 Guesthouse loves to use his immaculate French and he definitely is exuberant as the LP describes him.

I set out the next day, managing to leave by 9:30, the earliest of this whole trip. The grade was gentle and I climbed without great effort. Around each corner I kept expecting to see a monster hill but one never came : ) Alas, the whole day was a gentle climb that ended up being nothing to stress about. I mad it to Tad Fane in time to take a little hike around and then on to Tad Liang for a quick peek.

The next day, I was off to Tad Lo which as beautiful. My bungalow overlooked the falls and I could definitely have stayed a couple of days. Sadly, I had to return to Paxse today to catch my flight out tomorrow.

So ends a great holiday in Laos. I am already planning to come back!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1mb