one night stand


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North
February 4th 2013
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

no no...not about me!I was talking about the town of Uodomxay. I used to call it a one night stand town as I only spend one night in Uodomxay everytime I came here. perhaps many other travelers did the same as there are really not that much to do in town. But this time with a few days in hand before my visa expire, I hangout for a bit longer. with the town map from the hobomaps website. I made some walk around town, not much spectacular sight but at least something to do. Uodomxay now got more Chinese influence. the old market place had been totally root out. and now is a chinese sector with a big hotel and a shopping arcade with aa supermarket. the market now had been push more outward on the western edge of town. luckily I could still find the crispy sping roll there in the afternoon. the rest of the town center are pretty much the same as I could remember. The Vat Phu That had been renew and the compound had been expanded. now is the ideal place to sit and wait for sunset. the small hill opposit now held the town's museum which open in the morning time, that why not many people will visit it as most of the one night stand travelers arrived in the afternoon and departed the next morning. anyways....you miss nothing there!

At the end I would like to round up some cost of thing while traveling in Laos. A room should be around 50000 - 60000 kip per night. the best bargain was the bungalow un Vieng Phukha, 30000 kip!a traveler style fried rice or noodle should be 15000 kip, while soup noodle is 10000. but the contents are different in different canteen. for this price there should be pieces of meat, but many places the served you noodle top with mince meat. those in Namtha night market only asked for 5000kip. I hadn't drink a cup of cafe Lao this time in Laos as I always think it didn't taste as good as in the south of Laos, beside...it cost 10000 for a glass. I better drink a bottle of beer Lao in the same price. some places in Namtha you can get one for 9000, and in the Chinese supermarket in Uodomxay they even sell it for 8500kip. what a bargain. and although bus fare really gone up but still...it can be economic to travel in Laos for a budget aboutUSD$ 400/month.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.2769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb