Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North
September 27th 2012
Published: September 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It is the low season here so the temples and the sites were pleasantly quiet. The first day here started with a walk around the market. The market sold the banana leaf and marigold presentations. These are offerings to the Buddhas and they are left outside temples and on little stands outside the houses. We also passed the mighty Mekong river. We saw the slow local boats that go to Vientiene - another time......? Our local guide also took us to a small local enterprise, a silver smiths workshop where the silver is heated and the beaten in the traditional way. After this introduction to the town I headed for the most famous temple, the Vat Xieng Thong. This is not just any old south east Asian temple, it is a primary example of Laos art. The roofs of the temple sweep down towards the ground in three layers. The inside of the temple (sim) is decorated with gold and black stencils and there is a tree of life in mosaic on the rear wall. Near the entrance is a carriage hall containing a huge golden funeral carriage. For lunch I chose a small restaurant overlooking the Mekong. It was fairly quiet, but there were one or two tourist boats around. On my way to the museum I discovered a shop called ockpoptok which has beautiful handmade craft items. I had a look around and decided I would return with more money! In the same theme I visited the ethnic museum which has a small but well presented collection of costumes and other items from the hill tribe groups such as the Tai Dam and the Hmong. I expect many of the traditional customs described are under threat. Afterthe museum I fitted in one more temple. I arrived at the time the monks were starting their prayers so I stayed outside and listened to the chanting. My treat in the evening was a massage. I chose the traditional Laos massage.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb