Nong Khiaw


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » East
December 10th 2010
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I went up to Nong Khiaw by minivan on the 10th. I was the first collected from my hotel and the driver invited me to take the front passenger seat. Although the ride was better than most I have taken, the seatbelt didn't work and I was left to grip the handle over the door to keep my seat in several tight corners.

Nong Khiaw is not a major attraction. I had the option to take a kayak tour up the Nam Ou. The tour involved taking a passenger boat up to Muang Knoi with the kayaks dragged behind, then after spending a few hours in Muang Knoi, kayaking down the Nam Ou back to Nong Khiaw. The tour was expensive, more than a million kip if no-one joined me. I decided to travel up to Muang Knoi and try to join a kayak trip from there, believing that there would be more people interested there.

My accommodation was a bungalow, a bedroom with attached bath and balcony out front (50,000 kip). I broke the shower tap on the first try, water spraying everywhere. The manager managed to rig a fix, but I didn't have hot water.

I met Hans and Else, a couple from the Netherlands, in Muang Khiaw. I meet alot of Dutch people in Loas! We went for Indian food (bland - why are people so scared of spice?). Sorry no pic, maybe I forgot to take one.

I also included a pic of breakfast, muesli, yogurt and fruit, just because some of you know this is my preferred breakfast. I also try to enjoy Loa food, mostly noodle dishes.

Check out the Russian bridge, per Rough Guide Loas. I guess Russia used to be heavily involved here, you still see the hammer and sickle flag everywhere. But now investment comes from the Vietnamese and Chinese.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb