Back in Kyrgyzstan


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan
April 6th 2008
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Back in Kyrgyzstan
Last week, I returned to Kyrgyzstan after spending about three weeks in America. I quickly realized that much had changed while I was gone. Now, the trees have leaves, flowers are blooming, the weather is warm, and everyone is in high spirits. I found out that Kyrgyzstan’s springs and falls are very short. Now, the weather is like summer weather.
Everyone is enjoying the warm weather. On every street, you can see venders selling shoru (traditional Kyrgyz thick, wheaty drink) and “lemonade” (which is really a sweet, carbonated, and slightly fruity drink). Now, the babushkas are selling everything on the sidewalks from flowers to fortunes tellings. I even saw an old Kyrgyz babushka selling a slightly used traditional German dress for a toddler. It was soooo cute. I used to have a dress like that when I was a kid. We asked her how much she was selling it for, and she said $3. We bought the dress and gave it to Rahat’s little niece, who is wearing it now and refuses to take it off for her mother to clean it.
Now, everyone is out walking the streets, playing soccer, and little kids are playing huge games of tag. It is the perfect time to be in Kyrgyzstan.
Today, Rahat and I went a little outside of Bishkek, and climbed a bit in the mountains. It is so beautiful there. There are hardly any homes-just huge mountains. While we climbed, we took pictures of bright red and yellow mountain flowers. They were gorgeous.
Things are going well with Rahat’s parents too. They are busy cleaning and decorating their house, because their youngest son will get married soon. When I was there, they were gluing decorated Styrofoam plates to the ceilings of each room. They were actually really pretty, and you couldn’t tell that they are Styrofoam when they are put up.
My classes are almost over-just three more weeks. I’m really excited to finish school and begin working. I can’t wait to get a real job. Right now, I’m really hoping that I will be able to teach for Teach for America, but won’t find out for another two weeks if I get the job.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb