Tokyo, from peaceful Yanaka to crazy Shibuya


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
April 19th 2014
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 35.67, 139.77

It's a sunny spring day in Tokyo. The temperature is very comfortable and I am on my way to Yanaka. From the Nippori train station, it is a very short walk up hill to the cemetery. I crabbed breakfast on my way: a bottle of milk tea and a sweet bread.

I really like the neighbourhood north of Ueno: Yanaka. It is made of individual house and lots of temples. Well, they don't really look like temple but more like huge family home with cemetery attach to them. It's a very peaceful part of Tokyo, away from the noise and the madness.

After a light lunch (sesame and pickled plum rice balls), I walked south to the Ueno park and across it to reach the busy shopping lane under the railway (rather popular). I saw a shop selling purple sweet potatoes ice cream. I had to try. I was good! From Ueno, the district of Nihonbashi is just a few stop away on the metro. There, I stumble upon a small tea shop where they were roasted their own green tea. The staff spoke few words of English so I decided it was probably a good place to buy some tea. I ended up buying a bit too much.

I decided to spend the evening in Shibuya. It's the fashion/young district of Tokyo. It is very lively at night (well it is also packed during the day). I went to a massive music store to listen to what is popular in Japan now. I wrote down the name of few bands that seemed interesting. I already knew few of them. On one of the upper floor, they have a huge collection of DVDs and CDs that are for rent. And walking along the aisles I was truly amazed to find that they still rent VHS! I didn't do much, I am still exhausting and rain send me back home around 11pm. Considering the last metro is at 12ish it is not so bad going.

C'est une belle journée de printemps à Tokyo, il fait bon et je suis en chemin pour Yanaka. Depuis l'arrêt du train Nippori, il faut juste monter vers le haut de la colline pour arriver dans le cimetière. En chemin, j'ai acheté mon presque devenu traditionnel petit déj' : une bouteille de thé au lait et une brioche.

J'aime beaucoup ce quartier au Nord de Tokyo et
d'Ueno. Il se compose principalement de petite maison individuelle et on y trouve un temple tous les 100 mètres. Enfin, ce sont des temples un peu particulier, ça ressemble plus à de grande maisons. On ne les reconnait que grâce au cimetière qui se trouve à la place du jardin.

Après un lunch frugal à base de boule de riz au sésame et à la prune marinée au vinaigre, je suis descendu vers le Sud. J'ai traversé le parc de Ueno et j'ai flâné dans les deux petites rues commerçant sous la voie ferrée. C'est assez populaire et on trouve de tout à pas trop cher. J'ai même trouvé de la glace à la patate douce violette. J'ai été obligé de gouter. C'était pas mal. Depuis Ueno, le quartier de Nihonbashi et juste à quelques arrêts de métro. En me baladant dans les rues, je suis tombée sur une petite boutique de thé où ils étaient en train de rôtir leur thé. Je me suis arrêter et j'ai acheté du thé (un peu trop peut être…😉.

Ce soir, j'ai décidé d'aller à Shibuya. C'est un quartier jeune et branché de Tokyo. Mais il s'est mis à pleuvoir alors au lieu de rester dans la rue j'ai refuge dans un grand magasin de musique. J'ai écouté les nouveautés Japonaises et les hits. J'ai pris note de quelques groupes qui m'ont paru sympas. Il y en avait certains que je connaissais déjà. Dans un des étages se trouvait un magasin de locations. En marchant entre les allées j'ai été surprise par le nombre de CDs et DVDs à louer. Mais ce qui m'a le plus surprise se fût de voir qu'ils louent encore de cassettes !



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



27th December 2014

Jolie glycine ! ?a me donne une id?e .

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb