Kamakazi?...kirigami?...kawasaki?.... Kakizome!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
January 2nd 2017
Published: January 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

2.1.17

Kakizome, Japan.

KakizomeKakizomeKakizome

First writing. Apologies for my terrible handwriting!
Kakizome (today spelt correctly!) is a Japanese tradition practised on the 2ndJanuary.



Kakizome is writing an auspicious word or phrase in chinese script which used to be performed using ink rubbed with the first water drawn from the well on New Year's Day. These poems are then burnt on the 14th January in the Sagicho festival. It is said (on wikipedia, at least) that the person will be able to 'write with a more fair hand'. My handwriting in Latin and Cyrillic is as bad as my characters, so neater would be nicer.

In these modern days people often write out auspicious Kanji, rather than poems, schools set pupils Kakizome over the winter holidays, and on 5th January thousands of calligraphers gather at the Nippon Budokan in Tokyo's Chiyoda-ku to participate in a Kakizome event which is widely covered by the media (I will post any articles/videos I can find, especially if they are in English).

After watching a couple of youtube videos, I found one by Nahoko Toyonga which I have used for my choice in words as it fits with what I have set out to do this year. (
">
) 'Kei zuku' means 'to continue', which is what I'd like to do with this challenge. I drew the lines in order and tried to make them look a little like the brush strokes, but I'm no artist. My apologies!



Other traditons today:

Japan also celebrates Funaoroshi in Sakanoshita by sailors throwing tangerines into the sea.

In America it's National Science Fiction Day (I will watch some West World before I go to sleep 😊

Kaapse Klopse in Cape Town, South Africa – To celebrate the Second New Year – Tweede Nuwe jaar, as many as 13,000 minstrels (mainly Afrikaans-speaking Cape coloured families who have preserved the tradition since the mid-19th century. More infortmation http://www.capetownmagazine.com/kaapse-klopse
">
)

Nyinlong ('The Return of the Sun' in Bhutan, where the central and east of the country celebrates with feasts and archery and the west 'stay at home and wait for the day to pass'*).



Tomorrow's celebration is 'Preparing for Armenian Christmas' and I'm still not sure what I'll be doing for that, but I'm sure I'll find something. The rest of this week will include Braille, Sausages, Cambodian Communists, Russian Christmas, and bathing midwives.




http://www.marktheday.com/nationholidaydates/btn_wintersolstice.aspx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb