Tottori Beach Party


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
June 18th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At home in Canada I would rarely consider driving five hours to go to a party for one night. However, since in Japan I've become used to going the distance....and I totally don't mind. This weekend I went to Tottori Prefecture for a beach party...it was a wild time, and a great way to celebrate my birthday! Tottori Prefecture is north-east of Hiroshima where I am, and is on the Sea of Japan. The San-In Beach Party was held on a private beach, for a weekend of camping, relaxing, music, parties, swimming.....

Many people headed up on Friday night to get the party started, however Dana and I left Innoshima on Saturday morning. We got there around noon, when most people were just getting up. There were seemed to be a ton of people from Hiroshima there. I'd guess there was about 200 people total. It was a very international mix...many Japanese people, and others (what'd I'd assume to mostly be English teachers) from all around the world. I ran into my friend Gary from Toronto, which was a nice surprise! During the day there were drumming and yoga workshops on the beach. We set up our tents, and hung out by the water. There was a very hippie-like feel to the whole atmosphere. Some people brought hammocks and macrame decorations. There was a ''Chill Out'' tent, vegetarian Thai curry, oil massages and henna tatoos.....I loved it all!

To finish the day, and really start the night, there was a breathtaking sunset which we all got to enjoy....along with yummy barbeques and warm campfires. There were fireworks and sparklers....which you never get to old for! The main events of the night started around 10pm. The organizers brought in DJs from Japan, and around the world to play all night long. There was a sandy dance floor and bar set up just off of the beach, where we spent the rest of the night. The bartender was the most talented I've ever seen. For every drink he made, he put on a show....throwing bottles, pouring while they were in the air...amazing tricks. My friend Jenn treated me to a G&T for my birthday. This is how the scenario went: Jenn to the bartender: ''It's her birthday. Can you light something on fire?'' Bartender to Jenn: ''O.K.'' He lit three Kalua bottles on fire, threw them around for a good 5 minutes, and then poured me a drink! It was fabulous! At midnight, I had my friends around me wish me a Happy Birthday! I think the news spread quickly, because I got a lot of Happy Bdays from random party people. I was a happy girl!

Sunday was an intensely hot day....so despite being ridiculously tired, we could not sleep in our tents for very long. It was like a sauna! It was a lazy day of swimming and cleaning up. On the way out, Dana and I visited the Tottori Sand Dunes, which is the closest to a desert as I've ever been. The heat didn't make the climb through the sand very inviting, but we did it anyway. We didn't last long though...Dana lost her flipflops at the party, and the sand was roasting hot! The drive home seemed to never end...again the heat and lack of sleep didn't help! But we made it home, and I crashed immediately!

Thanks to all you guys who shared my birthday with me....it was awesome. And thank you to all those at home who sent me birthday wishes. It was great to hear from you! I hope this next year will be as great as the last!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

the beautiful sunsetthe beautiful sunset
the beautiful sunset

red sky at night, sailor's delight....
my birthday candlesmy birthday candles
my birthday candles

Jenn: "It's her birthday. Can you light something on fire?" Bartender: O.K. Just a minute
my birthday candlesmy birthday candles
my birthday candles

this guy was full of tricks! "Coyote Ugly" meets Tottori beach
the cool cow vanthe cool cow van
the cool cow van

....a rough translation on the Kanji on the side...."Dangerous Cow"!!


20th June 2006

Happy Birthday!
20th June 2006

Best B-day Ever, Eh?
Bet this will top birthdays of the past and future! How very special! A Happy belated b-day from moi! This post is one of the greatest..so interesting and just cool with excellent pics, as always! And, yes, I LOVE the sunset! Another poster in the making....you could make a collage of all the sunsets and frame it and maybe plack it. I love the chill out tent idea...we need to copy a few ideas of how to party! I might not ever leave the massage area! HA! I think this is one of your neatest experiences yet!
21st June 2006

hi heddie
your pictures of the beach party look great. i wish i could be there right now!
28th June 2006

Happy Birthday! Did I see you???
Hey Heather! Happy belated Birthday! I was at the Beach Party Saturday night too...I only arrived at midnight though, because I waited for a friend to finish work. Did I see you at all? I am having trouble remembering the night! Hope you had a blast and hope to see you sometime soon!
28th June 2006

Julia!
hey julia! i don't think i saw you that night...at least, my extremely foggy memory doesn't remember! it was a good party though, eh? I hope you read this reply....i don't have a contact address for you! see you around! Heather

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb