First week of lessons


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
June 19th 2010
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been awhile since I last wrote. I believe that I ended with my first day of lessons. The week ended up going great! All the kids I had were really nice. I did end up getting the kids that I had in level three to be more excited about being at swim lessons. I found that the one girl that I had in that class was scared of jumping into the water in the deep end. Which was definitely my magic moment for the week when I found a way to make her more comfortable in the deep end to be able to jump in; I used a noodle so when she jumped she would be able to catch the noodle. It worked! then she was able to jump in without it. I also had a great time with my level two class. They loved swimming; sometimes I wish I had that much energy when it came to swimming, maybe I would swim more! The sad part about the week was that Fun Friday was not so fun because it rained and we could not get into the water. But the upside of that was that people still came and brought great food!!! I was so stuffed by the end of the two sessions.

Other than lessons this week I swam everyday in the morning at 6. It was crazy to wake up, but I felt good after. We also ate at the Galley for breakfast on Mon and Thursday morning for only $2.30 for a buffet!!! We also made a breakfast club for every Thursday morning, which a lot of people decided to come to!!There were a couple of times that we got so boarded in the mornings that we worked out twice! I ran one morning, and the other we decided to do yoga/palates which kicked my butt. On Tuesday (6/15/10) we decided to try sushi which we decided was not as great as everyone said it was. It will not be a place we will probably go again. I did try raw fish which was not bad by any means but not on the top of my list to eat again. my favorite part was the rice. Wednesday night we went to a homework session which did not last very long, but we will be doing that every other wed. Also this week I finished a awesome book by Nora Roberts called Black Hills.
We did not do much the rest of the week besides teach lessons. Saturday (6/19/10) we had a busy day. We went to tour the USS Blue Ridge. It was really cool for me for some reason. For others it was not so much because it was just a ship. For me I kept thinking how much it looked like the ship that Grandpa D. was on. It was a flag ship so I knew it was not a lot like the ship he was on because it was not close to a battleship; it only had maybe 10 guns on board. They said that the ship was more of a international relations ship. I really enjoyed it though and we were allowed to take pictures so I have a tone!! After the ship tour we went to the MWR BBQ. It was nice just to relax for awhile. We also got Hamburgers!!!!! After that a friend and I went to Mikasa park which is in Yokosuka. It had a Japanese battleship that we could tour. It was an older ship than the one we toured before, but still very neat. It had been turned into a museum and what was nice was that we were able to read most things because the had the English available. There was also a fountain that had like a musical performance thing that went with it which was cool. After exploring that park we were really exhausted so we laid around for awhile before we went to the movie the A-team; the movie was really good. It was a good mix between funny and action. We then decided to just walk around after we went to the seven eleven to get some ice cream. Tomorrow we are going to go to a park in Tokyo!! Next week will be a little busier because we also start life guarding after we get done with lessons.
Till next time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb