Yokohama


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
June 14th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first trip out of Yokosuka was to a neighboring town Yokohama on Saturday (6/12/10). To Yokohama we had to take the train which was about a 20 min. ride. The train was full! The funny thing about it was that I guess it was not as full as the ones that go to and from Tokyo during rush hour; they actually have “pusher” which are people that are hired to push people into the train! People are pushed into the train like sardines! So at least it was not that bad. The train took us right to Yokohama; when we got off the train we walked through the train station and found these HUGE bagels. We did not buy one, but they were at least 4 times the size of a regular bagel. We then walked to the Yokohama Landmark Tower. This tower is the tallest in Japan, it also contains the fastest elevators in Japan. We rode up to the top and could see the whole city. It was amazing! There is a baseball field in Yokohama which you could see, you also could see the little amusement park and the bay. When we walked around after we saw the Hard Rock Café. We then walked to China Town in Yokohama. While walking to China Town we walked past three buildings, the King, the Queen, and the Jack. These buildings were owned by the imperial family at one time. The China Town in Yokohama is the biggest in Japan. It was cool to see, but it looked a lot like the China Town’s in New York and San Francisco; the only difference was that they really did not speak English! We found a restaurant to eat at while we were in China town. The menus were all in Japanese so we just pointed at pictures to order; little did I know that I pointed at a picture of tofu that had a hot red pepper sauce. It was not as bad as you may think. The tofu was good as long as I kept the sauce on it minimal. With our meal we also got corn soup, an egg roll, and some type of jell dessert that was very different, but I tried it. We traveled around China town and took a lot of pictures. We also got desert, I got a blueberry yogurt ice cream. After traveling to china town we were exhausted and headed back to the train station. When we got home we hung out at the food court so we could get a internet connection.
Sunday (6/13/10) was my first lifeguarding experience at Green beach pool. I lifeguarded from 10:30 a.m. to 6p.m. We had 30 minute rotations which made the time go by faster I felt. We also got a hour and a half lunch break which was really nice! There were no problems; I did not have to use my whistle. I also got to know some of the MWR staff; I am excited to know them better as the summer goes on. After lifeguarding some friends and I went to get a snack at a nearby mall. We also went to the 100 yen store to get some things that would be cheap there. At the end of the day we had a meeting before our first day of lessons. I am so excited to teach lessons!!!!!!
Till Next time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb