Cherry tree, cherry tree, gently swaying in the air...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
April 19th 2007
Published: April 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

sakura sakura
yayoi no sora wa
miwatasu kagiri
kasumi ka kumo ka
nioi zo izuru
izaya izaya
mi ni yukan

Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
Across the Spring sky,
As far as you can see.
Is it a mist, or clouds?
Fragrant in the air.
Come now, come,
Let’s look, at last!


In the 2nd grade, my school did a special unit on Japan. We learned little things like how to count to five in Japanese and how to make miniature zen gardens. We even got to try nori (dried seaweed)! The one thing that always stuck with me though was a song about the cherry blossoms.


My friend Maya's 30th birthday happened to fall during cherry blossom season, so she decided to hold a hanami (or a cherry blossom viewing) on the banks of the Shukugawa in celebration of it. So there I was, almost 15 years older, humming "Sakura, Sakura" to myself while picnicking under a canopy of pink. Sometimes Japan is simply fantastic.


A few days later, my friend Matt and I ventured out to Osaka-jo to catch one last glimpse of the blossoms. It wasn't as spectacular as Shukugawa, but still made for some pretty pictures.


Some of my students told me that the cherry blossoms release something into the air that makes you feel euphoric. I've never heard of anything like that though, and I think I would probably attribute the happiness to sake and time off from work. On a side note, apparently many children are conceived each year during this time! 😉

People work ridiculously hard in this country, so it's nice to see everyone out enjoying nature. Which reminds me... I don't know where they all learned it, but a common question you hear over here is: "Is there much nature in your country?"

They told us about some common mistakes in training, but I still giggle each time I hear that one.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Gone fishingGone fishing
Gone fishing

For about three bucks you can try to catch a goldfish with a rice paper net.
Ray likes cherry blossoms, too. Ray likes cherry blossoms, too.
Ray likes cherry blossoms, too.

Unfortunately the puppeteer was on break, so we didn't get to see him in action.


23rd April 2007

Perfect
To quote the last words of Katsumoto, "Perfect" (taken from the Last Samurai as he committed sepoku to the sight of cherry blossoms). Just had to remind you I'm a dork.
23rd April 2007

cherry blossoms
Dear Allysa, Thanks for the beautiful photos. I spent the weekend helping my sister sell orchids in Austin. Your mom and dad came by. I forgot how much I miss Austin. I had 2 margaritas at Trudy's last night and a fried avocado. I miss you and Brenna. Love, Theresa Beth
26th May 2007

dude, i so remeber the cherry tree song and the komono and red lips that you wore to school that day. Too Funny! didnt we learn that song on the recorder also? all of your pictures are gorgeous and i am so jealous of you every time i read a new blog. have fun for me and i'll wirte more soon! kisses... hil

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb