Japan to Singapore


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
March 31st 2007
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

contrabandcontrabandcontraband

you can't bring gum into Singapore. if you do and you get caught, you'll get fined.
Today was basically a travel day, but it did start out with some excitement. We were supposed to meet for a very very quick breakfast at 7am and then meet in the lobby at 7:10 in order to leave for the Komatsu airport to catch our flight back to Tokyo which departed at 8:45am. After Karaoke last night, I fell asleep like nobody's business and slept great. I awoke once or twice in the early morning and thought to myself, "man, this is the best night of sleep I've had this whole trip." I guess a couple of Asahis will do that for you. I was laying awake, and my alarm hadn't gone off yet, but I decided to see what time it was, so I leaned over to learn that it was 7:06am and my alarm had not gone off. I guarantee you that you have never seen a human being move so fast in your life. In 12 minutes I had showered, dressed, packed, and gone 4 floors up to the lobby to face everybody, only 8 minutes late. As I was going to bed the night before, I went to set my cell phone alarm but the battery was dead, so I only had my watch alarm on, which obviously didn't work. We headed to the airport, said our goodbyes to Jiro, Koji, and Urichi, who had been our hosts, and we took off right on time. The flight was about an hour, and unfortunately there was too much cloud cover so we couldn't see the Japanese Alps as we flew over them. It would have been great to see Mt. Fuji. We landed at Haneda, and before we even got to the baggage claim, our luggage was there. That never happens in the US. We hopped on a airport limo bus and it took around an hour or an hour and a half (my only time in Tokyo not at an airport) to get to Narita, where we spent the next 5 hours plus waiting for our flight to Singapore. Reed was departing from a different terminal, so we went our separate ways upon arrival at Narita. Had a Starbucks at Narita. Met some businessmen from San Fran and talked about sweet Japanese toilets. The terminal was filled with high end boutiques like Ferragamo, Cartier, Bulgari, etc. The time went pretty quick at the airport due to the wireless internet access. Luckily, the plane was pretty empty, so I had an aisle seat with nobody next to me. About an hour into the flight to Singapore my alarm went off, 12 hours late (obviously my fault). I slept about 3 hours or so on the plane after re-watching Pursuit of Happyness. We got into Singapore just after midnight, and got to the Gallery Hotel around 1am. The room is small, but ultra modern and very hip. I finally got to bed around 3am Japan time.

Advertisement



1st April 2007

Hi Cousin
Glad to see you're having fun. Guess this is why you haven't answered the phone when I kept calling you the other day. Here I was so excited to tell you about eating at Sonic and you're dining on exotic aquarium pets. Glad to see you're still looking Cute and Stylish, hope not Injured.

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb