first day at Sunagawa


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
September 14th 2004
Published: September 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Well its my first day at Sunagawa and things seem to be going well. I already had my 2 classes of the day which were pretty easy because it was just my self introduction. It seemed to go well though. The weekend was pretty casual too. The weather here has been pretty misersble its like being back in portland almost. there aren't any typhoons but its be consistantly cloudy and raining on and off. it sucks. all I want to do is go to the beach or do some fishing. On friday night I went to Pizza which is a weekly ritual for most of the foriegners on the island. the owner of the pizza place is really cool. he is old and doesn't speak much english but he gives us a pretty good deal (1 personal size pizza, a small salad or 2 pieces of fried chicken and a beer for about 11 dollars) and after we finish he sits down, gives us free awamori and does otori with us. Saturday some of the new JETs came over to my place and we watched some dave chapelle and zoolander which was kinda relaxing. after that we went to Jeff's bar and hungout for a while. Sunday a bunch of us went to brunch at one of the hotels on the Island which is quickly becoming another weekend ritual. its about 15 dollars for all you can eat and its pretty good. I usually eat that much worth in fruit alone (Since fruit is so expensive here). Its probably the only thing keeping me from getting scurvy (not spelled right I'm sure). anyways sunday afternoon I went fishing with Kim and her boyfriend which was ok. the weather was bad and the tide wasn't very good for where we were so I didn't end up catching anything. I did have one bite though. Yesterday was spent at the enkai because it was a holiday at sunagawa following their sports day. so today was my first day here. The kids seem really cool though so hopefully it should be a good time. I am slowly starting to get the hang of this teaching thing (or at least I hope so). Also someone left me a message on this about having family in Naha which is cool but I'm not sure who it was so hopefully you will read this and get back to me. thanks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb