Highs and Lows and All The Meat You Can Shove In Your Face


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Yamanashi
December 31st 2007
Published: January 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Japanese BBQJapanese BBQJapanese BBQ

Yummy Raw Meat
Alright, this post is long overdue and I definitely have more than enough to talk about. To start off, Happy New Year! This is the last post of the year although the next post will probably have some of last year in it, but this will probably be the first post you read in the New Year so, Happy New Year.

As you may remember from my past blog, I mentioned that I have started to dream in sarcasm. That is still happening, but I'm still edgy waiting for someone else to bust out the sarcasm. Despite that most people around me are not sarcastic, I still question some of the things they say. As if they've been holding out being sarcastic for 3 months just to throw me off when they finally use it. For example, we went out for drinks the other night and ordered some food. On the food there was this strange flaky paper stuff on top. Which before when I'd seen it I just assumed it was shavings of the outer layer onion skin. But this time I decided I would ask. They proceeded to tell me it was fish paper. The idea was so
Japanese BBQJapanese BBQJapanese BBQ

Some Lettuce and some more Raw Meat
ridiculous to me that it probably took them 3 or 4 minutes to actually convince me that it was that. I'm still not really sure if its actually fish paper or not or if its some cruel joke they're playing on me for being sarcastic to them. Needless to say I've become a little paranoid. PS that night I tried raw horse meat. It was actually really good. Don't judge me, I'm just experiencing the culture. I also taught them how to play I never. It was great, except they wanted to play it without sexual questions and I said that defeated the point of playing the game.

On a more yummy note, Japan has all you can eat BBQ. It cost us about $26 each for 2 hours of all you can eat meat. It was fantastic. They have this grill in the middle of the table and you order raw meat and they bring it out to you. Some of the stuff is even marinated. Its Fantastic, yes fantastic with a capital f. The even better part is that apparently its Japanese culture for the women to do the cooking so Brandon and I just got to
Japanese BBQJapanese BBQJapanese BBQ

The Grill, while cooking some raw meat
sit back and the women would cook the meat and serve it to us. I was going to make a joke about how they should feed us as well, but then I wasn't sure if they would catch the sarcasm and think that I wanted them to do it or realize I was sorta joking but still think I was an asshole... I think I made the right decision to dodge a bullet on that one... and being the gentlemen that I am, I didn't make the ladies do all the work.. I helped... a little.. I mean... a little... no but really I did help. PS They made me try cow tongue and cow diaphragm. See the pictures.

So teaching at Unitas has its ups and downs. Last week was particularly dynamic. With my younger kids classes a lot of what we do is learning vocabulary and practicing using it. We use text books with pictures and what not. On this particular day we were learning about the letter "s". So there was a picture of a sandwich, a sun, a snake and a girl named Sally. So we went through chanting the different words and after we
Japanese BBQJapanese BBQJapanese BBQ

Please notice the cows tongue that they made me try. It wasn't bad but it was more disturbing trying it. It is the circular piece at the top of the grill
finished I would say one the word and get them to touch it. Because I know it is important to teach the kids whole sentences, I would say "Touch sandwich... Touch sun.... Touch snake... Touch... " Oh dear god What was I just about to tell them to do to Sally, can I do that... hmmm if I don't finish the sentence they'll think something is wrong... if I do finish the sentence I risk teaching them a potentially sexual phrase. If they catch on this could be bad... hmmm... Do I embarrass myself by not saying Sally or do I finish the sentence and pray that their ignorance will save my ass.... "Touch... Sally"... quickly look around to see if anyone of them have caught my disastrous mistake. Hmmm the innocent smiles on their 4 year old faces point to their ignorance saving my ass... now pretend like everything is normal... check to see if they have touched Sally (shutter) now subtly glance at the Japanese teacher to see if she has caught on.... alright I'm home free. Sweet.

At the beginning of the classes I ask students some basic questions to get them thinking in English... such
Japanese BBQJapanese BBQJapanese BBQ

Please notice the cows diaphragm that they also made me try (the two uncooked ones on the top right hand side). Which again wasn't that bad but more disturbing... Its really chewy and had to be cooked well. And I did check, they do not eat dog or cat in japan.. that I don't think I could have handled.
as, how old are you, when is your birthday, what colour do you like? Simple stuff like that, but for the older kids after a while this gets boring and easy, so to really test them I switch it up... like what colour are your socks, how old is your brother and when is your fathers birthday? Now to say that I didn't see this problem coming would be a lie, but I guess I just thought that maybe I would be lucky. Last week I had the unfortunate experience of asking a boy when his father's birthday was and him shaking his head. I assumed that he might not have understood me so I persisted "WHEN... IS.. YOUR... FATHER'S... BIRTHDAY?" As soon as I had employed my slower and louder teaching trick... my fears became reality... this was one of the smarter students in my classes and I'd never seen his father come to pick him up.. maybe he doesn't have a father.. hmmm... What to do... he obviously understands.. do I admit I've made a mistake... that would be too hard to explain to these students and I wouldn't want them to lose faith in their fearless English
Japanese BBQJapanese BBQJapanese BBQ

More light to the cow diaphragm
teacher... I'll play it off like I think he doesn't understand... "thats ok... next week... raishuu" Break eye contact... move to the next student... I'm glad thats over.. nicely handled. I don't know why you were so scared in the first place

Later that day, I had a beginner class for kids the age of 5... only one kid showed up and he was my least favorite of the bunch... This kid needs a lot of attention and rarely speaks English. So as the class begins we were practicing the ABC's with cards that have pictures on them. So he finds a card and then I say the animal or picture and he repeats, but seeing as this kid didn't like to speak it was basically me speaking English. The parents would stay in the lobby, so all they (just his mother today) would hear was me speaking and even if he was speaking the mother wouldn't hear him cause he wasn't loud enough. However today he was saying things to me in Japanese, so to set a good example I would repeat what he was saying hoping that he would repeat when I said something. And wanting him
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party

Me dressed up as Jack Claus. It was fun but hot
to speak in a loud clear voice I spoke loudly and clearly. After I repeated a couple of words... the Japanese teacher came out and looked at me funny then when she realized what was going on, she started to laugh... She then proceeded to tell me that the little boy I was teaching was saying words like shit, breasts, the word for the male genitalia and other choice words in Japanese. Luckily I was speaking loud enough that every one could hear me... To say the least I was a tad embarrassed.

Other highlights of the week were being made fun of for having a big nose. Laughed at for eating "kids crackers". Apparently rice crackers that are shaped like stars are only for kids to eat. They didn't say "for kids only" on the package so I don't think thats really fair that they made fun of me! I was also told by a 6 year old that I was loser and a loner for being the only Canadian in Japan. I had just learned how to say in Japanese that one thing is better than another thing, so I told them that Canada is better than
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party

Kids doing their gift exchange
Japan, so maybe I provoked them a little. The Japanese staff translated what the kids said back to me, but won't translate back what I was saying to her... she would have taken a serious verbal beating if she had understood what I was saying. I still believe that it was unfair that the Japanese staff only translated one way.. I think it shows incredible bias; however, I must thank her for showing the control that I could not.. and for that I am ashamed.

However this week would not have been complete without a high. I have a class with three high school girls. Each week they write in their diaries about what they have done in the past week and usually its the same old stuff... went to school, studied and went to bed. However this week, my newest high school girl got her tutor to write some stuff in her journal on her behalf. Now I'm not sure if she actually knew what he wrote, but this is what it said: " I was really hungry today. There is nothing to eat in my house. Hmmm I will eat my brother. He was sooo delicious. Do
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party

More gift exchange. basically they bring presents and put them on the floor and walk around. Some of hte presents looked better than others and you would see bunches of kids slowing down around there.. it was great.
you want some?" At this point I stopped and I looked at her rather confused and I asked her if she knew what it meant. She said yes. I asked her if she ate her brother. She said yes but it was a joke. alllrrriiight... return to the diary "I really like English. I really want to understand what he is saying. I really like you. Will you be my boyfriend? You are the reason I get up in the morning. I want to be with you" Continue to look at the paper, hide the shocked look on your face... what just happened.. hmmm.. turn to the girl.... Yuki (the girls name), Do you know what this means? yes... hhmmm ... who are you talking about in here? your English Tutor? "You".... Me (I point to myself) "yes".... awkward... alllrrrriiight... Don't ask any questions you don't want the answer to... or might get fired for asking... no more questions just finish the dairy... "Do you have a girlfriend? I want to be your bitch and you can be my pimp." Close your mouth.. hide your shocked expression... "yuki, do you understand what this means?"... "yes..."
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party

They separated the boys and the girls. This is the girls cicle. Please notice the dress of the little girl on the far right hand side of the pic. I dont' even know what to say.
are you sure? "yes..." What do I do? walk away or correct some of the grammar... hmmm... As she sees the confused look on my face she tells me that it was joke.. .I give her an awkward laugh say good job and move on.. dammit why did you tell her good job.. she'll only do it again.. but as I walk away I can't help but be a little flattered... hhmmm she is cute... so how can I stay in contact with this girl for 4 more years until shes legal... hmmm...

So in an effort to explain some more pictures so this entry isn't only writing, I'm going to write about our UNITAS Christmas party. It was themed "A nightmare before Christmas" and basically it consisted of me working on a Sunday which I should have had off, I was not impressed about it. There was Santa Clause, Cake (A Japanese Christmas tradition) and presents. For one of the events the kids dressed me up as santa claus/ Jack (jack Claus one might say). so It was great fun. The only really highlight per say of the event was when one of the kids couldn't tell if
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party

Please notice how excited the foreign staff is in the background. We basically just stood there for this part.
I was a guy or a girl. If he had to guess he would have said that I was a girl. He ruined Christmas for me and I had no rebuttal for him. It was very embarrassing. My coworkers said that I would be a very pretty drag... I cried one tear of sadness but also one tear of joy. Later that night to celebrate a job well done, we went bowling and karaokeing.. it was an expensive night, but a good night. More to come soon. Hope you all enjoy

Geoff

PS. I've posted this on digg.com, so if you liked it, please digg it. Thanks.
http://digg.com/travel_places/Japan_Travel_Blog_Teaching_English_and_Experiencing_Culture



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party
UNITAS Christmas Party

These were the people that won for the dancing contest. To be fair that grandpa was a wicked dancer. I wish I had gotten him on video. I'm jealous of his moves
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party
UNITAS Christmas Party

Luckly I didn't have to get dressed up as anything. They tried to rope me into doing Santa Claus but Don seemed like a better candidate.
UNITAS Christmas PartyUNITAS Christmas Party
UNITAS Christmas Party

Someone wrote gravestones about the staff... so I took a picture of mine.. I have no idea who wrote this, but they definitely got it bang on.
The After PartyThe After Party
The After Party

This is the bowling alley we went to... notice the many large screens in the background. It was pretty fancy
The After PartyThe After Party
The After Party

This is the bowling crew. They're pretty awesome, but not as awesome as me. I was the only one to get two strikes in a row! w00t! Watashi wa ichiban desu!!!! ahahah
The After PartyThe After Party
The After Party

They got me to put on this hat, but the more I look at it the more stupid I think I look and the more I think it was just a cruel joke on their part. Blast it, why did I let them take pictures of me.
The After PartyThe After Party
The After Party

She was too cool to look at the camera or was still pissed that I wore her hat... one of the two
The After PartyThe After Party
The After Party

The infamous Japanese peace sign.
The After PartyThe After Party
The After Party

Why do I not look as cool Japanese people when I do the peace sign. hmm I'll have to figure this out.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb