A farewell to friends


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tottori
July 10th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can hardly believe that in just 3 weeks, I will be packing my bags and saying Sayonara to the San-In coast, which I have come to know so well.
At the end of July, I will travel to the touristy Kansai region and spend two weeks cycling around Lake Biwa and Nara before I leave for Shanghai on August 15th.
I will never forget the people I've met and the friends I have made during the past year. I've met an array of foreigners from all corners of the world, who share the same adventurous spirit as myself. And so, I haven't just learned about Japan, but I have come away with a greater understanding of the UK, Oceana, South Africa, and the Caribbean. As a result, I have studied Maori dance, practiced Kendo and Capoeria, and learned to cook Hawaiin food. These past few months have been full of camping trips, beach parties, ultimate frisbee tournaments, and, of course, many, many nights spent singing karaoke. I have a better understanding of myself and my home country through their feelings and perceptions. I think the biggest impression it has made upon me, is that although we may like to point out the differences in our accents, people who are the product of Western industrialized nations share a kinship in a lot of ways. We embody similar behaviorisms and views. We are accustomed to relatively the same freedoms and lifestyles. And as the world becomes more globalized, this gap in differences will continue to close.
And then there is Japan. Japan has served as my innermost mirror this past year. Both the people and the environment have served as a source of reflection. I think that many people, when they travel to a foreign country, want only to go to the big cities where the excitement is. But, looking back on all my experiences, I am grateful that I did not wind up in Tokyo or Kyoto. I will always carry with me this feeling you get from living in the countryside, amongst misty mountains, abandoned shrines, and the slow-paced lifestyle cities lack. I have had the pleasure to live amongst some of the world's most kind and gentle people. My set of values have been forced into re-assessment. I think there are good qualities the West can bring to the East, such as extroverted-ness, gender equality, and global awareness. But I think there are many lessons the West needs to learn in exchange, such as manners, the ability to make self-sacrifices, and humility.
The best chance we have at a peaceful world is to understand and respect the different cultures around us. What works for one group will not work for another, and forcing your lifestyle and beliefs on others will always meet with resistance. This may be common sense, but all one must do is to read the news headlines to realize just how much this simple rule is not practiced.
I have enjoyed writing about Japan this past year, but more than anything, I hope my writings have served to lessen the gap of understanding between East and West, and to urge anyone with the means to become active in this new and exciting era the world is entering into: the age of one global community.
PS: If you would like to see more photos of what's been happening in my world, check out my flickr!
I just undated lots of great stuff at:

lisita flickr


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb