Teaching and turning Japanese in Tottori...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tottori » Tottori
July 6th 2008
Published: July 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy in the wind by the sea...Happy in the wind by the sea...Happy in the wind by the sea...

...but totally unaware that my shoulders and chest were getting burnt...
During my homestay I took a 3 day trip to Japan's coast and went to stay with my friend Kohei in Tottori. He is at University there, so I was really lucky and able to be a japanese student for a few days...and a teacher!
(read about my time with Kohei last year - A beautiful place with an horrific tale... AND Officially solo...).

I helped teach a few of the English classes with a lady from Zimbabwe. One lesson was on the difference between American English and English English (the correct English). We looked at pronounciation, spelling and what different words there are but for the same thing. Most Japanese have learnt American English and find it really difficult to pronounce how I say glass, bath, task. Was quite funny hearing them all repeating the words, trying to achieve the correct pronounciation.
Everyone thought that I would make a really good English teacher, which is a great thing to hear as I do hope to do that after University...maybe in 2010...but we will see!

Kohei also held me a little welcome party on my first night at his apartment, with delicious food, drinks and fantastic friends who were Greek, Spanish, Korean and Japanese. Was so
Japanese classroom...Japanese classroom...Japanese classroom...

Teaching, listening, studying, typing, sleeping...
much fun, especially when there were language misunderstandings...

My second day involved Kohei skipping his lessons so we could visit Tottori's only attraction, but a great one at that....sand dunes! Sakyu sand dunes, we had to get a bus and a train to get there. Of course we took off our shoes, to really enjoy the soft sand between our toes...but for some reason we were the only ones there who did that. Everyone else were wearing these wellies...man they were missing out...

It was a beautiful moment, finally seeing Japanese ocean. The next country after the ocean is Korea, so I waved to my friend Goo from University who has gone back there...not sure if he saw me...

At the University I also attended one of Kohei's lectures, however it was in Japanese, so between us we shared a piece of paper to use for translating things and if I had any questions.

It was shocking how many people in the lecture hall were asleep...I must have counted at least 30 people! This is not just dozing either...this is full on, mouth open, head on desk asleep...even people sitting in the front rows! Apparantly this
Boys with baskets...Boys with baskets...Boys with baskets...

Even the guys over here have baskets on their bikes...
is common in Japan and the teachers just ignore it.
Even in highschool people sleep, or girls will start applying their make-up half way through the lesson...there is no way that would pass in England...

It was also rather interesting attending Kohei's Spanish class but taught in Japanese and a little bit of English. I was so envious of the teacher...fluent in English, Spanish and Japanese...beautiful...

I am so lucky to have had this opportunity of being a Japanese University student and teacher! Every day I feel I am little by little, turning Japanese! What I eat, what I wear, what I say...and sitting on the back parcel part of Kohei's bike to be cycled home...I was scared (he cycles like a nutter) but felt so Japanese...I am happy...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Ajisai flowers with accompanying bug...Ajisai flowers with accompanying bug...
Ajisai flowers with accompanying bug...

These vibrant flowers only appear during the rainy season...
Conveyor for dirty dishes...Conveyor for dirty dishes...
Conveyor for dirty dishes...

The food at the University was delicious! No burgers, chips or sausage rolls in sight! Rice, tofu, fish, pumpkin, salad bar, kimchi, pasta...and at ridiculously low prices too...it is just not fair...
Bicyle, bicycle...Bicyle, bicycle...
Bicyle, bicycle...

Almost every student has a bicycle, the campus is full of them! Compared to the 20 bicycles outside my University...
English class...English class...
English class...

One of the English classes I helped with...all were so eager to ask me questions...
Slideshow...Slideshow...
Slideshow...

Kohei viewing our day at the sand dunes...
Sand and sea...Sand and sea...
Sand and sea...

The cool water, the soft sand...followed by a burnt Lucy...
Dipping time...Dipping time...
Dipping time...

At last I dipped my feet into real Japanese ocean...
Last day...Last day...
Last day...

In the English teaching area...


12th July 2008

Oh yes beat the nige, oh yes beat the nige! Reading the blog now :)
12th July 2008

JET
JET really would be perfect for you if you enjoyed teaching English to the Japanese students :) Looks like you're having lots of fun there
12th July 2008

YEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!
Someone atlast has done it...well done! Bit slow today as just got in from the pub. Looking forward to saturday and seeing you ...make sure and have a wash tho! mmmwwaahh pib
13th July 2008

Japanese
Your turning Japanese, your turning Japanese, i really think so .(thats a song title as well ).Nigel has not comented to this blog yet ? what ever next !!
13th July 2008

Beaten by Uncle !!!
Firstly someone has at last beaten Nigel to the blog !! wow his Uncle ! how will you cope with coming second Nigel ??? Back to the blog, really interesting, with lots of photos which I love to see, how lucky were you at the University too. Well time is running out my lovely daughter and you will have to return to being English again ! Enjoy, love you, mum x woops Okasan xx
14th July 2008

that was a good blog. so nice you still like the sea and sand. Can't wait to enjoy the sea in Spain with you. Can't wait to see you next week Love you lots and lots Dad
15th July 2008

oooooo wow
hey there lucy! it really looks like you are having so much fun. and getting to do so many things. That is so bizzare how the students are just allowed to fall asleep in class and get away with it..how fascinating. when are you back, would love to catch up!!?? Take care and hopefully see you soon. Love Christie xxx
16th July 2008

You go girl
Lucy It looks like your having fun out thier you go girl teaching already Cilla xx

Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb