My Japanese Homestay in Kobe...enough Bluegrass for the year...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
July 4th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sad sushi lucy...Sad sushi lucy...Sad sushi lucy...

I know it was my own fault, but the button said TOGO. I assumed this meant 'to go' please press this button. But no, it made me go backwards and was actually the name of the company who made these toys...
Kobe...this is where I randomly came across this Bluegrass music bar by myself last year, and ended up making friends and remaining penpals with this guy called Kohei who worked behind the bar, and his Dad owned it! (Read about my discovery of it here - Officially solo...) I thought it would be a good idea if I did a week homestay at his house with his parents above the bar (even though he was not there but at Uni) to experience Japanese life and improve my Japanese!

Kelvin came with me to Kobe for the day. Luckily I was able to leave my beast of a suitcase in a locker at the train station...
We did some sunbathing down by the port on some grass...finally we found a big grassy patch, we were so happy as it seems to be quite rare to find nice big grassy areas in Japan! As well as benches and bins...but this area was benches galore!

We ended up playing on some arcades, and both rode on these mechanical animals. Kelvin chose the panda and I chose the llama. However, I got very upset and frustrated as my silly llama would only go backwards and ended up getting stuck at the edge of the concrete play area...that was until I realised I was pushing the wrong button, the reverse button...that is why it was making a beeping noise like a bus does when it reverses...I should have realised...

Kelvin got to experience the bluegrass bar briefly before leaving Kobe as a solo traveller...he seemed a tad scared but I knew he would be fine! So there I was, alone now in my new home for one week...

My time at my homestay was spent mainly studying with the occasional nap as it was so hot!

Breakfast was always interesting. All delicious food but a strange combination.
For example, sweet french toast, kiwis, squid soup, cheese salad, yoghurt & blueberries and some English tea.
Now as most of you know, I do not like tea, or coffee. But out of politeness I accepted tea every morning (I bought them Fortnum&Mason tea as a gift, so I think they really thought I loved it, plus with me being English!) and after finally finishing the last sip and feeling delighted that I had managed another cup...I would blink and the mother had refilled it!
Double bass...Double bass...Double bass...

There were so many cool things in the bar, made it really feel authentic and as if you were not in Japan but in the US...that was the idea I think anyway...

By the end of the week I had got used to it...I even drank this famous Kobe coffee (where the water used is the same water they use to make Sake) with the father...now that was difficult!

The house had 4 floors. I stayed at the very top and was so embarassed when the father had to carry my heavy suitcase all the way up! The ground floor was the music bar, where I would go most evenings and get heaps of free beer! I think the father enjoyed showing everyone his white homestay girl from England who is friends with his son, studying Japanese and telling them all how I am a vegetarian but eat fish! (In Japan, they automatically assume vegetarians eat fish.) I think they struggled with feeding me and everyone seemed to find it hilarious...

My last night at my homestay was great. There was a student band in and we all stayed there afterwards drinking and playing music. As soon as I mentioned what artists I liked, one guy would start singing a song by them with guitar.
I got to hear Engrish versions of Your Song by Elton John, Hallelujah by Jeff
Gakusei...Gakusei...Gakusei...

All students...although envious of the others and wishing she could study in Japan...
Buckley and Stand By Me...sugoe! Of course I had a little play, trying to remember Blackbird on the guitar and my Liszt on the good old honky tonk piano...







Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

It's raining, it's pouring...It's raining, it's pouring...
It's raining, it's pouring...

...and Lucy likes it...sometimes...
Himeji Castle...Himeji Castle...
Himeji Castle...

This castle is actually a World Heritage site...so pretty...
Sachiko and I...Sachiko and I...
Sachiko and I...

Met up with my friend I met in Australia and spent a day in the rain together...was lovely...
The honky tonk...The honky tonk...
The honky tonk...

Perhaps my classical pieces should stay on the babygrand...
Your own personal bottle...Your own personal bottle...
Your own personal bottle...

There were rows and rows of all different types of whisky, each with either someone's name on it or something belonging to them...like a necklace or a watch...
Japanese mother and I...Japanese mother and I...
Japanese mother and I...

We managed to have quite a few good conversations in Japanese, but taking about 4 times as long, by the time I've looked up words in my dictionary...
Obasan...Obasan...
Obasan...

The 90 year old grandmother who could still climb 2 flights of stairs for meal time...


9th July 2008

MMMMMMMMMM
I so need a beer !!
9th July 2008

??????
Not read blog yet just trying to beat Nigel !!!!! Love Mum xx
9th July 2008

I cannot believe it...
Nigel, you beat Mum by 1 second! That is crazy...can anyone EVER beat you?
9th July 2008

Damn - last again! xx
9th July 2008

Im the man!
Its just pure coeincidence that i manage to be in my inbox when little sis pops up......i will make sure and not reply in future to make everyone else feel better and to be honest quite glad as i dont really like lucy anyway!!
9th July 2008

ONLY JOKING SIS!!!
LOVE YOU MMMMMWWWAAHHHHH PIB
9th July 2008

Manners !
I so laughed at the cups of tea you have been drinking, at least the manners I taught you have lasted ! Loved the photos, gosh the time is flying by, you will soon be home again, enjoy have fun, Love Okasan x
11th July 2008

I like your blog
I know what you mean about the benches and the bins. I spent an afternoon in Osaka just looking for a place to sit down and throw away my empty drink bottle. As for Hareruyah...it's a great song for Karaoke too! :D Keep blogging, you're giving me ideas of places to go and see. ^_^ I've only left Shiga to go to Osaka and Kyoto, and Kobe sounds like fun too
15th March 2012

vegetarian!
Hi so you said you were a veggie in Japan! Was it that much more difficult? Did you not even eat fish? I\'m going there in a few months and i\'ve decided to at least allow fish back into my diet because.. well its an island and they eat a lot of it over there. How was being a veggie over there like?

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb