Various Places - May 2005


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 18th 2005
Published: July 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

HarajukuHarajukuHarajuku

Dude, check out that girl in the schoolgirl uniform on the right! gahhhh
Wednesday 18 May 2005 - Day in Tokyo
I got to meet up with Melissa from school again, and we got caught up on Golden Week. We met up at HARAJUKU, which is a pretty famous place where cos-play kids go to on weekends. There are lots and lots of cute girls here too, hehe. Melissa and her FRIENDS were shopping that day, so I tagged along. I had also wanted to get myself some of those black gloves... I heard only girls wear em, but forget that -- I'm cold dangit! We ate a late lunch at SHAKEY'S pizza. I never ate there back in the States, but it was buffet there. I think it was like 10 bucks for all-you-can-eat pizza. Not bad at all. The pizza was pretty good, but I didn't dig the fish ones. The dessert one with fruity syrup on it was pretty darn tasty though. It was real cool getting to hang out with Melissa, and it made me miss everyone at Pacific. Made me reminisce too. It won't be the same ever cause people are graduating one by one. I wonder how everyone is doing...
That night I went to Shibuya,
FriendsFriendsFriends

Melissa is second from the left
which had a really beautiful SKY that night, to eat dinner. I was really in the mood for pho, and tried to look for the place I wanted to eat at last time. But still, I couldn't find it. So I settled for a random place that had Vietnamese and Thai food. The menu sounded pretty good... ordered some Vietnamese CURRY and PHO. The pho wasn't that good actually, so I was really disappointed. And there wasn't even the two sauces (black and red -- hoisin and chili). The curry had too much coconut base. The thai tea had too much ice, as did the coconut. So yea, I was a bit disappointed. I did have a nice walk around Shibuya area that night though 😊

Saturday 21 May 2005 - Park and First Real Burger
The weather was beautiful, so I went to KASAI Rinkai Koen. It's a beautiful park, filled with people. You can go for a pretty nice stroll, as it is pretty big. I saw a really cute LITTLE girl chasing pigeons, and I missed my girls (Lauren, Leanne, Lida, Jamie, plus the boy Justin -- my cousins' kids, whom I babysitted prior to
ShakeysShakeysShakeys

Pretty good. But in Japan, you re-use your plates at buffets...
my coming to Japan). The park is next to the SEA, so that's cool too. I took some nice pics - be sure to scroll down and check them out. I also took a ride on the FERRIS wheel there. At night, it stops running and lights up really nicely. There is a pretty nice view up there. I was disappointed the carts were glass though, so you can see other people riding with you -- not much privacy. I read that you can see Mt. Fuji with binoculars at about sunset too... It got really hazy, so I decided not to wait for the sunset. The ride is usually 600 yen, but the machine was acting up and I ended up paying 500 a ticket. The ride lasted 17 minutes, which was not bad. The most interesting thing was probably the really corny music playing in the ferris wheel cart. It's not exactly elevator music... reminds me of pokemon, and walking around towns.
After the park, I headed to Ikspiari, which is like Disney Town. It's right outside Disney Sea. I had a nice stroll around the place, and had dinner there. I wanted burgers, so I tried
SkySkySky

Shibuya crossing...
out a place called KUA'AINA. It was amazing. I havn't had a rosemary in forever! The fries were really good too. The prices were a little on the steep side, for a burger, but I think it's still worth it. Ikspiari had a free magic show, which I just missed too. There are nice shops to look into there. I love the Disney atmosphere :/ Oh, and there is this one place under the domed "fake sky" where it echos what you say. Wait, I'm not sure how to explain this... You hear yourself speak, like it's an echo, but only the people standing in the center can hear (which might fit 5 people squished together). The people outside don't hear anything different. It's a cool acoustic thing. I took a video, but I can't post that online... Anyway, that was a good day. Oh yea, and I went karaoke for just an hour after that, since the last train stopped running at about midnight. It stops at 1am going the other way too, so I thought that was lame. But yea, an hour of singing flies by...

Sunday 22 May 2005 - Happy Birthday Annette!
Alex, Lars,
PhoPhoPho

Um, the soup tasted unique, and I wasn't used to the meats used in this dish
Ari, and I went to Annette's apartment to celebrate her 21st BIRTHDAY. Not enough alcohol for birthdaygirl, in my opinion, but I hope she had a great one. I had a nice picture of myself getting PUNCHED by Lars. Us guys were supposed to wear a "crazy hat," and I think we look pretty cool.

Tuesday 24 May 2005 - Kaiten Sushi
A group of us went to KAITEN sushi ("conveyer belt" sushi). It's about a buck per plate of two pieces... I had a feast, and it only cost me 800 yen. Seth was digging the HAMBURGER sushi (the one on the right).

Sunday 29 May 2005 - La La Port
I went to La La Port for the second time, which is a humongous shopping mall. There were a lot of PEOPLE. I was in the mood for PHO and got a bowl, but it was a huge disappointment, especially since I couldn't find seating inside. The pet store was pretty cool -- the Japanese really like their pure-breds, so the prices are really really high. Check out the price of the CAT in the picture below. I bought a cool pair of yukata
CurryCurryCurry

Not too good actually
shoes though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Sea1Sea1
Sea1

by Kasai Rinkai Koen
Sea3Sea3
Sea3

Who is the cool-lookin guy?!
Ferris1Ferris1
Ferris1

Ferris wheel at Kasai Rinkai Koen
Ikspiari1Ikspiari1
Ikspiari1

It's right outside Tokyo Disney Sea -- a shopping tourist trap
Ikspiari2Ikspiari2
Ikspiari2

Missed the magic show :(
Ikspiari3Ikspiari3
Ikspiari3

Stand here to hear your echo!
KuaAina1KuaAina1
KuaAina1

Kua'Aina in Ikspiari shopping center - good burgers!
KuaAina4KuaAina4
KuaAina4

The rosemary sandwich I had.. yum!


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb