First Week of June


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
June 2nd 2005
Published: June 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

BaseballBaseballBaseball

Look closely and you'll see I captured the ball in the photo!
Thursday, 2 June 2005 - Marines Vs Carp
IES agreed to reimburse us some of the price for a BASEBALL game -- the student ticket was 1500 for seats in the infield behind third base, and IES would give us back 500 if we showed them the stub. In short, it cost 1000 yen to watch the number one team in the league at the time, the CHIBA Marines. It's ironic because the Marines have always been a joke, but for some reason, this season, they've done really well.
Anyway, this is the first baseball game I've ever been to. It was RAINY. At the entrance were some food TRUCKS that had interesting names too. The park was pretty EMPTY, and we got a lot of space to ourselves. I kinda wanted to sit where the hardcore FANS were, but there was supposed to be a FIREWORKS show that night, and the better seats were in the infield. The fireworks show turned out to be really cool. The Chiba Marines also slaughtered the other team, the Hiroshima Carp. I think the score ended up being 9-2 or something, and it was ended in the 8th inning. One of the
ChibaChibaChiba

Chiba Marines Baseball Stadium
cooler parts of Japanese baseball was the fact that they had CHEERLEADERS! That was really cool -- but I was hugely disappointed that I couldn't get to take a picture with them. I learned some Japanese phrases from Seth in order to ask a park worker how I could get a picture with the cheerleaders too! Haha, it was like a "PA."
I had a great time. The best part was my asking a BEER girl if she could do me a favor and entertain my idea of allowing one of us to drink out of the TAP... she agreed! Well, I want to mention that I had like 3 little chats with her before I asked her for the favor, finding out that those beer girls make about 100 yen per beer they sell (which costs 600 yen), so they only make money by commission... so it pays to show up to work on a big game. Anyway, when I asked, I told her we'd pay for a full beer, but we'd take the cup half full and a squirt of beer straight from the tap. Anyway, it was really cool, and I'm glad she was happy that
RainyRainyRainy

(left to right)Ari, Mason, Aaron, Seth, Michael
she met us -- she thanked us for the fun day she had at work because of us. Hehe, yah. And I went with COOL people, so I had lotsa fun. That's it for this entry.
Oh crap, and that day, a new cool guy named ANTHONY arrived. He was an IES student from Fall 2004, but he's back as an intern, getting paid to do nothing. That punk.

Friday, 3 June 2005 - Y's
Before I get to Y's, I want to mention it was Diane's BIRTHDAY! Ya, Happy 21st! So Y'S is an all-you-can-eat-and-drink place for 2500 yen, from 5:30pm-10:30pm. I thought the FOOD, which I heard was mainly appetizer stuff, was not going to be that good, but it turned out to be really really good! The people, of course, were even COOLER! There were lotsa friends there, so I had a real good night. There is a drink bar where you can mix anything you want too. There's also juice (I love Orange Qoo), and a beer dispensing thing. And look Mom, I was STUDYING even on a night out! 😉 I really wish I could speak Japanese better so I could talk to random SALARYMEN like Seth and Ari did too.

Saturday, 4 June 2005 - Pleasant Night
I had dinner at a place I like called Jonathan's. Their food is not too expensive, and their desserts are really freakin good. I tried their new MANGO dessert menu, and it was really darn good. I want more dangit. After that, we went KARAOKE for an hour -- good times.

Sunday, 5 June 2005 - First Time Yaki-niku!
Ari, Anthony, Lars, and I met up at a "tabe-hodai" (all-you-can-eat restaurant) in Makuhari. It was my first time (well, that served "real" food anyway), and it was great! You just pay 20 bucks and you grab all the meat you want from the SELECTION bar, and bring it back to your table to GRILL. You can grab all the RICE and curry you want too. There's the all-you-can-drink option as well, but we all wanted to keep our stomachs free to hold more meat... I LOVE meat, yum! LARS had to leave early cause he was feeling sick after eating so much, hehe. ANTHONY was alright. ARI and I were going to pass out by the end, especially after I had WAFFLE with ice cream! My first time eating that too, and it was amazing! Man, I wanna go back -- especially since I didn't eat the dorm's crappy dinner tonight, so I'm a bit hungry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

They were real pretty :)
Cheerleaders1Cheerleaders1
Cheerleaders1

How can you not love em?!
Cheerleaders2Cheerleaders2
Cheerleaders2

Noooo, don't go! :(
BeerBeer
Beer

Her english was pretty good and she was real enthusiastic when speaking with us!
TapTap
Tap

First Seth... GO GO GO!
Tap2Tap2
Tap2

Ari says, "How bout me? :)"
Cool1Cool1
Cool1

(left to right)Ced, Michael, Ari, Seth
Cool2Cool2
Cool2

(left to right)Stephane, me, Ced
Cool3Cool3
Cool3

(left to right)Leah, Bridge(t), Tis(a), Nancy
Cool5Cool5
Cool5

Walking back from the game in the rain...
AnthonyAnthony
Anthony

He's the guy second from the left...
Birthday1Birthday1
Birthday1

(left to right)Mason, Diane, Alex
Birthday2Birthday2
Birthday2

Cake I hear was pretty good...


3rd July 2005

Hi
You have ugly girlfriends and very pretty and intelligent, respectable girl cousins and a dog that farts too much .You look very ugly in the pictures.We miss you! Your girls at home.We love you.
5th July 2005

dunno
sup bro. nice pics. yakiniku is awesome.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb