Busy As a Bee


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
January 28th 2005
Published: January 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The last week turned out to be very chaotic. Jeremy left this morning for yet another visa run. Originally, we had planned to visit Hong Kong together. but our week became unexpectedly hectic and in the end he went to Taiwan- alone. I am very jealous that he is getting to travel while I have to attend to my responsibilities. Mostly I am envious that he will be at a hotel with a bed and that Taiwan is warm right now. There is no animosity, but I will proceed to tell the following story which may publicly embarrass him.

I get home every night around 10pm. I put down my bag and immediately start cooking us dinner. Last week when I walked through the door, Jeremy was standing at full attention waiting for me and yelled, "Thank God you're home!". I thought he was being extremely sweet, but soon found out that he needed my help. Apparently, two hours earlier Jeremy had opened the door and a bee had flown in. Until last week, I was completely unaware of his complete phobia of bees. He had been standing with a magazine rolled in one hand and a bottle of glass cleaner in the other for two hours. He told me the bee had flown up to our 'bed', if you can even call it that. I crawled up the ladder and began searching for the bee. I lifted every piece of clothing and blanket in the 7x4 area. There was no bee to be found. Jeremy assured me he had been watching the whole time and there was no way a bee could have gotten past him. I continued my search because I too have a phobia and know how terrible the feeling is.

Out of no where I heard the most helpless, panicked yell. Schoolgirl with a skinned knee does not come slightly close to describing the sincerity of this yell. I looked over, expecting the worst. Jeremy quickly caught his breath and pointed towards where the bee had flown. I crawled back down the ladder to his aid. I quickly sprayed the bee with the glass cleaner so it could not fly and then sent him to his grave with the help of 'Entertainment Weekly'. Normally I would have made sure the bee made it outside safely, but I could tell Jeremy was not in the mood to watch me attempt this maneuver.

Afterwards, the whole scenario became hysterically funny to me. Who would have thought I would be the slayer of the relationship? We quickly dropped the subject (Jeremy was a little embarrassed; mostly about his schoolgirl scream) and settled on our duties. I will be in charge of bees for the rest of our lives and in turn Jeremy will have to tirelessly track down every roach that makes its way into my field of vision.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb