Date Night in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
January 26th 2005
Published: January 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Japan is pretty expensive, so sometimes we have to get creative on date night. Jen had the great idea of making s'mores. We nostalgically remembered their marshmallowy goodness, plus there was a chance we might burn the apartment down roasting our marshmallows and have to move into a nicer place. We got the ingredients and three different kind of beers, as well as a copy of Dr. Strangelove. We played blind taste test until we settled on Sapporo as our favorite beer, then watched the movie as we toasted our marshmallows stuck onto a chopstick over a candle. The apartment did not burn, unlike the time in Memphis I was living with 3 other guys and our satellite went out. We thought some kids that had broken in and stole all our CDs were now trying to steal our satellite so the NRA nut of the group went outside with his 9 only to find the house on fire. The phones were out so I ran to call the firemen. I ran back and saw my fools of roommates trying to put out the blaze with the garden hose. When the firemen came I begged them not to spray down my room because I had all my homework on computer. They knocked me aside and kicked through my bedroom wall. My computer lived. Why did I start that story again?

After Jeremy's intro I am not really sure of what the subject of our entry is. I think it was supposed to be our life in Japan or lack thereof. I have truly entered into hibernation mode, refusing to step outside into the bitter cold except when absolutely necessary. I promise that as soon as Spring is sprung, we will again explore our new home and post pictures. In a few weeks the spring blossoms will be in full bloom, there will be color in Japan again, and we will brave the outdoors once more.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb