Bangkok, Last Official Day, January 9, 2010


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
January 9th 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok, Last Official Day, January 9, 2010

Typing from Tokyo Airport!!

Just like I thought, the last days just whizzed by!!

We got back to Bangkok (our hotel) at about 6pm on the 7th, and went to our tailors for our final fittings. I must say that we were quite pleased with everything, which included shirts, suits, blazers, and overcoat’s. They did a really nice job, and they were fun to deal with. I would definitely recommend these guys, and really consider using them again.

We took the last couple of days in Bangkok to just chill, unwind, and take in the city for what it’s worth. We spent the majority of our time on Kao San Road. The ever famous backpackers hub!! The reason Kao San attracts so many backpackers is because this part of town offers up very cheap accommodations!! This is where you’ll see backpackers and hippies from all over the world, sitting around, exchanging stories, and planning out there next destination. The market in Kao San is also worth the visit. This is where we finished up all of our shopping (gifts). We also found a really cool place/lounge, where we had lunch, and I submitted my last blog from. Really nice, mellow, and low key place.

As we were walking through Kao San Road we stumbled into a “Mua Thai Boxing Gym”! This is where the locals get to train foreigners, and also other locals for Mua Thai! Mua Thai is the Thai version of kickboxing. As we sat back and watched, the boys were nice enough to let us film some of the training, so I got about 2 minutes of some really nice stuff, that I’m sure my boy Jorge is just going to LOVE!! For whatever reason my blog site gives me a really hard time when I try and upload videos, so I’ll have to share me videos with you all when I get back.

We took one last ride on the ferry boat serving the Chao Phraya river, bought a day pass for the Sky Tram, and just zoomed back and forth seeing our favourite pockets of the city for the very last time, at least for now!

I loved Bangkok! Huge city, so much to do, so many different people from all over the world, and as busy and bustling as it is, the vibe is peaceful!! I’m really going to miss this place, but at the same time, I’m sure that I’ll be returning again one day!

I’m sitting at the airport in Tokyo waiting for my connecting flight to Washington. It’ll be a 12 hour ride, then a 4 hour wait for my flight o Buffalo, then the drive home. I’m hoping to be tucked in by midnight!!
All in all it’s been an amazing trip/journey/experience. Like everything else in life, we could always look back and wish that we did this instead of that, or stayed here instead of there, etc…, but when I sit and go through all of my pictures, I’m quite pleased with the ground we covered, the things we saw, the people we met, and the overall Thailand experience. Nice people, great food, and good times!!

Hope u all enjoyed this as much as I did!

Special thanks to everyone back home, especially my family, because they ROCK!!
I’ll be sure to post my diving pictures once I get home, as promised!!

See you all back home!!

XOXOXOXOXOXO!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb