Visiting Schools


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
December 1st 2005
Published: December 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well the last two days have sure been interesting. We went to a Junior High school, yesterday. In some ways it was very different from our school, and then in some ways very much the same. We had a welcome reception first, I am getting very spoiled that when we walk into a place we are greeted by applause. Basically we are treated like royalty, we get special treatment and small gifts. Despite the language barrier we are able to communicate with teachers and students. You would think that they would have lots of technology in the schools, however it is quite surprising to find that they have very limited access to computers. In fact, most of the classrooms dont have computers in them and use of the computer lab is limited. The kids have a little different schedule, kind of like in Europe, they dont have the same schedule every day. And they only have art once a week! Poor kids. The kids wear uniforms and like at any other school, there are classes where they are really attentive and other classes where they look bored. The teachers have a set curriculum that is written by the Japanese government, and the same curriculum (and book) is used by all teachers in all schools throughout Japan. The teachers have very little flexibility, many of the students have to work hard to pass an end of course exam.........sound familiar? But I did observe an English teacher that reminded me of Coach Meador, having the kids do some reflective writing. And I thought that the math teacher was not too interesting, they sure could use a Mrs. Chrisman over here to make it more worthwhile. And speaking of interesting, I bet Mrs. Cook could sure make it exciting around here too.

And the elementary school we visited today was just great. the little kids were so cute, and we had a ball. I havent got my pictures downloaded yet, but will post some from the school visits tomorrow.

I think I will try to load some more pictures to a past entry, so you may want to check.
The hardest thing about being here and visiting schools is that it makes me miss everyone even more. Mrs. Gwaltney says that the paintings are looking really good, I wish I could see them. I have bought some really neat prints here, that is probably my favorite thing right now, the art work here is so interesting to see.
Well it is getting late and I have to be up early. Take care everyone and remember I love you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb