FOOD!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

sashimisashimisashimi

great dinner for first Tokyo sashimi
This entry is mostly photos. I will list various food I have tried and enjoyed over the past 13 days, but to write about everything would be quite the novel, and besides, I'm no food expert and don't have the skills to give a good critique - other than great, OK, or no thanks. Overall, I have been in culinary heaven here trying new stuff or stuff I normally don't like prepared in an appetizing way. I love to eat, and have had the chance to do plenty here. The food is generally more healthy than elsewhere, but it's easy to find tasty unhealthy treats. Regardless of how healthy I may be eating, I haven't worked out since the day before I left, and I can feel it. It doesn't matter what I eat, without the exercise my body is used to, I feel run-down a bit. Just means I've got to make up for lost time when I return.

My favorite has been the sushi and sashimi. We have decedent sushi in Seattle, but the sushi and sashimi here is outstanding. Have tried all kinds of various white fish I've never had - like hamachi, squid, blue fish.
Thai noodle lunchThai noodle lunchThai noodle lunch

2nd day here
There are others too, but have tried so many I don't remember them all. Still don't like sea urchin or octopus as the texture isn't too appetizing. Still don't care for roe either. Michi ordered some white fish sashimi which was a whole small fish, flash fried and served on a platter - you just pull it apart and eat it, guts and all. I was surprised how good it was. Also a large fish head preparted the same way, with really tender meat, and even the eye ball tasted good. Never would imagine I would eat something like it, but it was great. There are various types of tuna as well, more than just the deep red one that I'm used to. All great, more fatty.

In addition to sushi/sashimi, we had a couple different noodle lunches... mmm good. One was in Kyoto, a tiny little place suggested by a local. Salty but good. We also had some pork meals that were great. One lunch place that served bbq pork with various vegetables, served like a bento box meal with miso soup. Lean meat and good.

The biggest surprise for me was the tofu. I have tried
shell fishshell fishshell fish

some large snail-like thing, on fire at the table, and sooooooo good!
it many times and prepared many different ways at home, and just couldn't get into it. I have loved everything I've tried with tofu here. Not sure if it's because I'm more open to food here and am tricking myself, but it just tastes very fresh and with better flavor. Really good. I'll try again when I get back to Seattle, but I'm prepared for tofu not to be the same.

Another great meal was the Wednesday night Korean BBQ. I wrote about in my last entry, but have included more pics here. SO GOOD!

The most controversial food I ate while here has got to be the horse sashimi. I can't praise it enough. Awesome! I had the opportunity to try whale, but wouldn't. Got in to a heated, but not antagonistic, discussion with Michi about the political reasons why, but we finally agreed to disagree. Just some cultural differences I suppose.

Intersting differences eating out than in the States. The staff brings little warm wash cloths for patrons to wipe their hands clean when you arrive, and off course it's all chop sticks not silverware, which is great! Usually one is brought tea instead of
Sashimi heavanSashimi heavanSashimi heavan

here fishy fishy fishy!
water, and you've got to order water separately. The wait staff usually leave you alone until you ask for your bill or get up from the table to leave - you aren't really pushed out like in the States. And no tipping here. It's all part of the bill and job I guess, and tipping is not standard.

That's the basic overview of my food adventures here. It's all better captured with photos, so enjoy. There are a ton of shots, and only inlcuded a portion here, so hope you don't get too sick of them. This is my last entry until I return home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

green tea and cakegreen tea and cake
green tea and cake

at temple in Kyoto
green tea soft cream conegreen tea soft cream cone
green tea soft cream cone

really enjoying it
bento boxbento box
bento box

on bullet train to tokyo
Kyoto snackKyoto snack
Kyoto snack

omelet type thing with sauce and various ingredients. I liked it. Michi no.
Octopus ballsOctopus balls
Octopus balls

breaded ocotupus carb-heavy treat. Me not like so much. Michi loves.
Amazing tofuAmazing tofu
Amazing tofu

during great Kyoto traditional Japanese meal
Kyoto mealKyoto meal
Kyoto meal

good food, good company
tempura lunchtempura lunch
tempura lunch

not so healthy
SUSHISUSHI
SUSHI

gorge gorge
BBQ placeBBQ place
BBQ place

I've raved about this one already
pork lunchpork lunch
pork lunch

noodle, bbq pork, veggies, bento box style
more sushimore sushi
more sushi

that big piece is eel - mmmmm
sharingsharing
sharing

or hoarding..
edamameedamame
edamame

you get what you can grab
noodle daynoodle day
noodle day

not Nate's favorite place


30th May 2007

because of these good foods...
I gain 3 kilos... Now I have to lose all them. rats! :(

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb